We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Dagupan ,Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I booked a family suite with 2 bedrooms . Rooms are spacious, completely furnished with kitchen utensild . Room interiors ,carpeting,beds all need to be changed and renovated. Not worth the money - paid .

Room Tip: Choose a room that is located at the back which faces merced river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    782
    572
    205
    97
See reviews for
660
857
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed in a river view room on the first floor with balcony overlooking the river. Great to wake up and hear the water rushing by. On our stay over the weekend it was nearly all families.

Indoor swimming pool was a hit with our 9 and 11 year old niece and nephew. Rooms are well used but have all the amenities you need. Gas fireplace with real look logs is nice.

Bathroom has a huge jetted tub but is again worn but was spotlessly clean.

Biggest complaint are the tiny hard as rock pillows. We had to put towels under them to make them of any use. No spares are left.

River view restaurant was also a disappointment. Cheap but barely edible food. Berry cobbler was the best dish.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river view room. Others overlook the main road.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a room with river view. Those rooms have a balcony and the view on the Merced River was just great. As the rooms have a small kitchen, we prepared the food there and had dinner on the balcony. If you stay there to visit Yosemite NP (and I think most people will), you can reach the park entrance by car in about 5 minutes. I saw that there is a bus stop for public transit to the park, but we did not use that.

The room was clean and it was equipped with a nice-looking electric fireplace for heating. Nevertheless there were two things, we have to criticize. There was an unpleasant smell in the room when we arrived. We think, that the people before us cooked some very smelly things in the kitchen, and after opening the windows it was OK. But we were not able to get that smell out of the room completely. Second bad thing is the bed. It was very, very, very soft. Normally my wife likes soft mattresses, but in this case, we had the feeling, that if one of us turned around, the other one will fall off from the bed.

Room Tip: The few dollars for river view are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneek
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Yosemite View Lodge in El Portal is situated on the border of Yosemite Natural Park ,CA.
First: internet only for extra $ 9 p/d in the Lobby, cell phone has no service, no breakfest but every room has a kitchenette. A good store close to the lobby, Restaurant, Pizza. Laundry,
A fine in and outdoor swimming pool. No one was on the smartphone! Free- off for a few days!
Price/value: good. We had $ 40 off in April ( in between season)
Frontdesk efficient and helpfull .Other employees only Spanish .
We had a 3 nights stay and visited Yosemite 4 days from 9 am until 4 pm. Within 15 min we were at the first Waterfall.
Think of the garbage: the wild animals are also here and will find every part of our food, we found out on our 3 floor balcony. The staff helped us cleaning.

Room Tip: There are different lodges situated on the Riverside for a higher price and no noise from the highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Well , we were expecting more for our money, lots more . £500 for 3 nights was far too much for this place. Yes it is in a great location, close to the park, but really, the premises were completely lacking in reinvestment. The rooms were very dated, cheaply furnished and generally tired. The staff were okay-the premises were not what we would expect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I am pretty "go with the flow", but this place really stretched my limits. The first clue should have been when I found used underwear in the drawer where I planned to store my clothes. But it was waking up to the hundreds of little ants on the counter that sealed the deal. Didn't think I could top that, but when I addressed my concern to the desk clerk upon checkout and her response was a deadpan "I'll be sure to let maintenance know".... Without any apology..that took me over the top. On the upside, the food in the restaurant was good and Travis in the bar was a gem. Still will not return however.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

They say in real estate location location is everything but Yosemite View Lodge is the exception to the rule. Yes it's close to the Park but that's all it has going for it. The room was dirty-dusty and poorly vacummed, the bed flimsy, and the pillows and walls were paper thin. The kitchenette was poorly maintained. It was barely one step up from camping out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.