We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Situated on the West Entrance of a good stay close to Yosemite natural Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Situated on the West Entrance of a good stay close to Yosemite natural Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Yosemite View Lodge in El Portal is situated on the border of Yosemite Natural Park ,CA.
First: internet only for extra $ 9 p/d in the Lobby, cell phone has no service, no breakfest but every room has a kitchenette. A good store close to the lobby, Restaurant, Pizza. Laundry,
A fine in and outdoor swimming pool. No one was on the smartphone! Free- off for a few days!
Price/value: good. We had $ 40 off in April ( in between season)
Frontdesk efficient and helpfull .Other employees only Spanish .
We had a 3 nights stay and visited Yosemite 4 days from 9 am until 4 pm. Within 15 min we were at the first Waterfall.
Think of the garbage: the wild animals are also here and will find every part of our food, we found out on our 3 floor balcony. The staff helped us cleaning.

Room Tip: There are different lodges situated on the Riverside for a higher price and no noise from the highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    929
    727
    279
    147
See reviews for
812
1,070
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Well , we were expecting more for our money, lots more . £500 for 3 nights was far too much for this place. Yes it is in a great location, close to the park, but really, the premises were completely lacking in reinvestment. The rooms were very dated, cheaply furnished and generally tired. The staff were okay-the premises were not what we would expect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I am pretty "go with the flow", but this place really stretched my limits. The first clue should have been when I found used underwear in the drawer where I planned to store my clothes. But it was waking up to the hundreds of little ants on the counter that sealed the deal. Didn't think I could top that, but when I addressed my concern to the desk clerk upon checkout and her response was a deadpan "I'll be sure to let maintenance know".... Without any apology..that took me over the top. On the upside, the food in the restaurant was good and Travis in the bar was a gem. Still will not return however.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

They say in real estate location location is everything but Yosemite View Lodge is the exception to the rule. Yes it's close to the Park but that's all it has going for it. The room was dirty-dusty and poorly vacummed, the bed flimsy, and the pillows and walls were paper thin. The kitchenette was poorly maintained. It was barely one step up from camping out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Prices are slightly high due to location near Yosemite Valley, though very close to entrance, so easy access. Also rooms have a kitchenette, which allows you to cook, etc. Good with kids :) Amenities in general are somewhat limited in this area, though hotel has good restaurant, and basic general store is close by. I would stay here again, and close proximity to park makes it as good a stay as having a room at one of the actual NP Yosemite lodges (a lot cheaper too). Pleasant staff, clean rooms, good service ...

Room Tip: Be wary of Bears and Racoons!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A good location, close to Yosemite National Park. The rooms were clean and average size. Although the decor was a bit dated. No elevator so if you had a big/heavy luggage then you would have to carry it all the way upstairs. No mobile phone signal. You have to pay for Wi-fi with very limited connectivity. The wifi would not allow Skype. There is a restaurant and a Pizza place in the lodge for food which opens at certain times. The Pizza place made delicious Pizza.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I brought groupon for 2 nights for 219$ for up to 4 people... Reserving room over the phone was easy and there were no hassles.

Checking in was smooth...

The room was quite good with 2 queen beds. The most impressive was the view from the balcony which opens up to the spectacuar views and sounds of the merced river.... There it is right next to the balcony flowing with its full speed.... You can't beat that...


Now the cons
1. There is no WIFI ... You can't go online anywhere except for the lobby for 9$ per day ... I needed more info on hetch hetchy but just couldn't get online
2. The plumbing makes a lot of noise: Each room has a spa tub and if you have rooms on either sides, its going to be noisy everytime somebody starts the water...
3. The breakfast is not complimentory ... it is nice but at 11$ per head



Summary:
Excellent location... good rooms cons are not that of a big deal

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.