We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Park, Merced river fabulous in March” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Novato
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Close to Park, Merced river fabulous in March”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My second stay at YVL. Love the 5 minute drive to the Park entrance but mostly love the
Merced River in March when the water is rushing. Its fabulous to sit on the balcony and listen
to the river sounds. The bad news: the room seemed less clean than we remembered before. Old smelly sponge on counter, dishes not clean, rug stained. The pillows were overstuffed bricks - no one could think these were comfortable. We cleaned everything ourselves before using anything. Good news: Restaurant is great for breakfast, and lounge offered good pizzas (hubby upgraded assessment from last year). Dogs are welcome and we saw quite a variety of pets along for the trip. Would we stay here again...Yes because of the location but we'll bring our
own Lysol and pillows!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    863
    666
    238
    131
See reviews for
742
980
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for four nights and loved it! Yes, it is an older establishment, and it does show some wear and tear, but overall, the experiencing was great.

I had a river view room and sat on my balcony in the morning and evening just enjoying the view. My room also had a two burner stove, microwave, small fridge, fireplace, jetted tub (in the bathroom) with a two headed shower. The kitchenette was equipped with the basics as far as eating and cooking utensils. It even had a dish drainer and dish soap, wine glasses, can opener and knives.

One thing I loved is that they are pet friendly. I was able to enjoy Yosemite Park during the day and return to my room, knowing my cat was going to be curled up, sound asleep, and safe.

I will definitely consider this location on my next trip to Yosemite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, this place was not as nice as descripted. The carpet were old, smell shampoo, beds are not comfortable and flat. Pillows are flat too. I feel like not want to touching anywhere. There is a SMALL cooking area, but the pots are all scratched and old. The whole place just feel dirty. The view is nice and close to the park, that’s all. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place was perfect! We stayed at a mountain side room in the maple building and were debating upgrading to a river view but we figured we wouldn't be in the room that much anyway. We were impressed with the size and cleanliness of our room. We had a nice kitchenette with small fridge, microwave, sink and two burner stove. It was fully equipped with pots, pans, dishware and silverware. The thing we loved most about the room was the jetted hot tubin the living room area. It had a gas fireplace right next to it. Wonderful! What a relaxing way to end our long days of hikes through yosemite. The bathroom was very spacious and clean. I will definitely be staying here again. The pizza at parkside pizza is delicious! We were told there is no free breakfast but the restaurant on site offers a breakfast buffet for about $10 per person from 7am - 10am. We didn't try it but we did have pizza two nights. Overall this is a lovely place to stay and about 1 mile from the main park entrance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I love this place!!!! We had a little drama checking in- the place was way busy, they have me a room someone was already in... But they quickly fixed it. Go for the rooms w/ the river view- they have balconies outside your room where you can almost touch the river- so beautiful! My rooms have always had a two burner stove, microwave, small frig, fireplace, jetted tub, and two headed shower. Not a lot of tv channels- but who cares??? Each building has a pool, there's even an indoor pool and hot tub. The outside hot tub was broken, as it was last year. I really wish they would get that fixed. Some of the curtains show a little wear, and the decor is a little 70s... But a great deal and very clean. The views are to die for!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We wanted to take our girls (2 dogs) to Yosemite. This place allowed both dogs, without restrictions! They loved watching the river flow right past our room. Although they swear Frick or Frack stole their dinner. Had a great time in a great room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Lodge is right at the entrance of the Yosemite park, i.e. just a few miles away from the park's main area. Yet when I was there in December the room was only half price compared to accommodation in the park. I liked the room, it was at the riverside, which gave a nice atmosphere and the car could be parked right in front of the door. Furthermore, it was spacious and comfortable, with good working heaters and a hot tub. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.