We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Bern
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Lodge is right at the entrance of the Yosemite park, i.e. just a few miles away from the park's main area. Yet when I was there in December the room was only half price compared to accommodation in the park. I liked the room, it was at the riverside, which gave a nice atmosphere and the car could be parked right in front of the door. Furthermore, it was spacious and comfortable, with good working heaters and a hot tub. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    926
    727
    278
    147
See reviews for
809
1,068
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The drive was beautiful. The staff very friendly. Th e room very clean and the view of the river from our balcony breathtaking! We were able to bring our dou which is a bid plus. We will be back. It was only 2 miles to the entrance of the park.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A great place to stay to access Yosemite Nat Park without driving! We used the Yarts bus service from the front of the hotel. $7 return for adult - kids travel free with each paying adult. Consider that it costs $20 to get in to the park this is a deal.
Hotel room was spacious and has a small kitchen - sink, coffee maker, stove, microwave and fridge. Great for making small dinners. Also comes with pots, plates, cups etc. Not pretty but functional. Saved us $$ on eating out. We had a mountain view - or highway view really. Not noisy even with snow plows. Nothing fancy but very functional.
Hotel has an indoor heated pool (and outdoor) which we didn't realize when I booked - wish we had bought our swimsuits it looked nice!
Perfect location for us - we went skiing at Badger Pass each day and I didn't have to put chains on or drive at all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If something fancy is what you're looking for this is not the place. But for a quick get away it was great. There rooms are a good size. We had a 2 queen bed room and it had everything you need in their kitchenette. Very close to Yosemite Village. We stopped by the store and cooked dinner in our room. Bring your bathing suit because they have an indoor heated pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

How can I begin this, trying to explain this amazing place to stay. Well, lets start back in I think 1994 when there was a flood that took out the building closest to the park and thank God no one was hurt. This isn't a Yosemite view....this is a river view that leads to the valley floor. This Motel sits about 2 miles outside the west gate enterence right on the Merced river, literally...right on the river. There are not enough words to express how amazing it is to step out on your balcony (river view side) take up a chair and watch the mighty Merced rage bye, the roar and power is so wonderful. I've been to the North shore Oahu with the big waves, this is just as amazing. I wish more people so close to this place would just get out and see it, really.....it's only 5 hours from LA let alone if you live in central Calif.
All rooms have a mini kitchen and small frig. so you can buy you food and prepare it there. They have a great pizza place, weird how good it is and a small cafe that has good food too. There are I think 3 pools and jaquzzi's as well so you're taken care of. Local wild life too, the coon's are a bit aggressive so don't try and feed them, might end up needing a shot.
Over all, there is no better place for family that would rather stay in comfort than camp and you're more likely to get a room here in the spring run off water extravaganza time period than a camping plot and be so much better off.
No disrespect to the one that likes to pitch a tent, but when there's a wife and kids..and dogs, etc

Room Tip: Book a river view room, nothing better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

From the outside this place does seem very dated. However when we checked into our room we think we had been given the honeymoon suite (if they do one) it was huge. Jacuzzi in lounge in front of gas fire. Small kitchenette, and a huge bathroom and walk in shower for two. This was a nice place. The breakfast we were very impressed with, and was able to eat on the verandah overlooking the stream each morning. Perfect distance to get into the valley. Would defo recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park city UT
Level Contributor
124 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a nice spot just outside Yosemite National Park. If you'd rather not deal with Hantavirus, or if everything in the park is sold out, this is a good bet. Rooms are clean, the restaurant serves a mean burger and you're only 20 min or so by car to the valley itself. One thing to note is that there is effectively no cell service here (ATT at least) and wireless only in the lobby, which you must pay for. They have a small store on site which has a few groceries and some cheesy gifts but it can be useful. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.