We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Yosemite, but sterile and wearing out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Convenient to Yosemite, but sterile and wearing out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Prices on Expedia were better than hotel's website. Closest hotel to Yosemite Valley, outside of the park itself - very convenient. Reception was a bustle of activity, they could use more staff and cut down on the wait time. Gift shop & store was full of junk, and not a lot of useful stuff (like food variety). The place was sterile feeling on the outside, pedestrians and cars competed with each other on the road/driveways because sidewalks are poorly laid out. Restaurant was good, pleasant staff, adequate variety. Interiors could use some refreshing - very 80's - but clean. Bathroom windows face right onto walkways - no privacy if the window is open to let out steam/odor. Kitchen was equipped with cookware, but the dishes were chipped and needed replacement. First floor rooms have an ICE COLD bathroom floor with no heat flowing into the room, very uncomfortable. High fences on the first floors block views of the river -- so ask for an upper floor unit.

Room Tip: To avoid ice cold bathroom floors, ask for an upper floor room. First floor rooms facing the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    798
    590
    209
    105
See reviews for
681
875
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

On arrival after a long drive, our first impressions were underwhelming. The place needs a good upgrading externally, especially given its great location right on the Merced River and really close to the Park entry gate.
However, reception was welcoming and efficient. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a king room with in-room spa, a lovely gas fireplace, huge granite-lined double shower, kitchenette, loads of space and a magical river view balcony! All decorated in keeping with the environment. The spa is just wonderful after a heavy day's hiking in the Park.
The restaurant, although operated separately, is inviting and good value.
Unfortunately, no cellphone reception and wi-fi is only available in the lobby as an expensive extra.

Room Tip: Ask for a river-view room in the Sequoia Block on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Conveniently located just outside Yosemite park, this large hotel is located right next to Hwy 140, has large rooms with kitchenettes and many rooms with views of the Merced River. The kitchenette included a stove, microwave, and mini refrigerator. Inside the lobby is a well stocked convenience store with basic amenities, a gift shop, and a good sized room for sitting in the evening to play card games, etc.There are several pools onsite and a large hot tub that can fit 10 people comfortably.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with views of the Merced River
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at this location 10 years ago and loved it. It is in a beautiful location and is close to Yosemite. However, its been a stale 10 years for this location. While they have expanded the property, they still have the same old bed spreads that left me freezing on the cold winter night. OR I could leave the heat on all night but would wake up in the middle of the night in a sweat baking from the heat. The kitchenette area was nice, clean and filled with useful utensils. However, the refrigerator didn't work that well and I ended up with spoiled food.
I got no phone service whatsoever, so to connect to the outside world I had to use their internet. The rooms have no internet service and you have to go to the lobby to use the internet and you still had to pay 10 bucks a day. At that, the speed was crappy and you had to log in / log out several times to get it to work. I could accept this if it was free, but to pay 30 bucks over 3 days for frustrating service is bad taste. Note to YVL: I would pay 15 bucks a day to have great service in my room and I think a lot of people would.
The lobby has a gift shop that has seen better days. I felt like I was over at Grandma's and she didn't want me touching her creepy doll collection and antiques. The pizza at the complex was great and the staff there was helpful.
The hotel staff was great, very knowledgeable and helpful. I'd only go here in the summer when you don't have to worry about the heat so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After a long drive from Napa, arriving at El Portal was quite the comfort. Despite some reviews I had read, I found the front desk staff pleasant, friendly and helpful. We arrived just before midnight, had no trouble finding the hotel and check in was smooth. We quickly got settled in and were greeted by "Frick", or was it "Frack", one of the local racoons sitting at our front door! The room was chilly and the heater didn't seem to have a thermostat, just kept running all night. The restaurant closed at 10:30 a.m. and we almost missed breakfast! The food was fine, not 5 star, but fine for our needs. The kitchenette in the room could have been handy if we were staying more than the one night. This hotel is as close as you can get to the Yosemite entrance to the valley and served our purpose well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our party of 4 adults spent 3 nights here - in one extremely clean, spacious and comfortable, standard room. Useful and effective kitchenette and a spacious bathroom with a fab shower - just what we needed after long days walking the stunning national park trails. Location is perfect - just a very scenic 15 min drive and you are in to the park. Unexpected bonus (as not highlighted on booking) was a good continental breakfast provided most days in the hotel lobby - cereals, toast, bagels, eggs, pastries , coffes teas, juice. Front desk staff were quiet and reserved, but very helpful when asked for/about anything. Would definitely reccomend the Yosemite View Lodge, and will be returning here for our next visit to Yosemite.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good, and all have balconies. We only had a standard 2 queen room and this was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

good location, near the national park. Good size room,with nice views.Breakfast though is not great, continental breakfast,no proper dining room,have to use the lounge for breakfast. Staffs are helpful, had a small problem with the heater and TV remote control and they quickly fix it.

Room Tip: There's only one restaurant within the lodge which is quite expensive.The next restaurant is mil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.