We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating, excellent service though!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs updating, excellent service though!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at this location 10 years ago and loved it. It is in a beautiful location and is close to Yosemite. However, its been a stale 10 years for this location. While they have expanded the property, they still have the same old bed spreads that left me freezing on the cold winter night. OR I could leave the heat on all night but would wake up in the middle of the night in a sweat baking from the heat. The kitchenette area was nice, clean and filled with useful utensils. However, the refrigerator didn't work that well and I ended up with spoiled food.
I got no phone service whatsoever, so to connect to the outside world I had to use their internet. The rooms have no internet service and you have to go to the lobby to use the internet and you still had to pay 10 bucks a day. At that, the speed was crappy and you had to log in / log out several times to get it to work. I could accept this if it was free, but to pay 30 bucks over 3 days for frustrating service is bad taste. Note to YVL: I would pay 15 bucks a day to have great service in my room and I think a lot of people would.
The lobby has a gift shop that has seen better days. I felt like I was over at Grandma's and she didn't want me touching her creepy doll collection and antiques. The pizza at the complex was great and the staff there was helpful.
The hotel staff was great, very knowledgeable and helpful. I'd only go here in the summer when you don't have to worry about the heat so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    819
    577
    208
    98
See reviews for
653
855
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moreno Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After a long drive from Napa, arriving at El Portal was quite the comfort. Despite some reviews I had read, I found the front desk staff pleasant, friendly and helpful. We arrived just before midnight, had no trouble finding the hotel and check in was smooth. We quickly got settled in and were greeted by "Frick", or was it "Frack", one of the local racoons sitting at our front door! The room was chilly and the heater didn't seem to have a thermostat, just kept running all night. The restaurant closed at 10:30 a.m. and we almost missed breakfast! The food was fine, not 5 star, but fine for our needs. The kitchenette in the room could have been handy if we were staying more than the one night. This hotel is as close as you can get to the Yosemite entrance to the valley and served our purpose well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our party of 4 adults spent 3 nights here - in one extremely clean, spacious and comfortable, standard room. Useful and effective kitchenette and a spacious bathroom with a fab shower - just what we needed after long days walking the stunning national park trails. Location is perfect - just a very scenic 15 min drive and you are in to the park. Unexpected bonus (as not highlighted on booking) was a good continental breakfast provided most days in the hotel lobby - cereals, toast, bagels, eggs, pastries , coffes teas, juice. Front desk staff were quiet and reserved, but very helpful when asked for/about anything. Would definitely reccomend the Yosemite View Lodge, and will be returning here for our next visit to Yosemite.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good, and all have balconies. We only had a standard 2 queen room and this was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

good location, near the national park. Good size room,with nice views.Breakfast though is not great, continental breakfast,no proper dining room,have to use the lounge for breakfast. Staffs are helpful, had a small problem with the heater and TV remote control and they quickly fix it.

Room Tip: There's only one restaurant within the lodge which is quite expensive.The next restaurant is mil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I'm not sure if it's because we travelled there in low season but what a regret. The room was clean but lacked heating in the washroom. So it was freezing cold when coming out of the shower. Their so called continental breakfast consisted of 6 hard boiled eggs in a plastic bag, coffee but no sugar, some cereal, and juice. DO NOT visit their restaurant called "the river". It was inedible and the hotel shouldn't recommend it to their guests. Better to plan ahead and bring your own food and cook it in the kitchenette. After this experience..I highly doubt i'd ever go back there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Being located only 5 mins drive from the entrance to Yosemite national park (with nearly all the competition several times this distance) is what keeps this hotel fully booked throughout the season and inevitably commands a premium price. However this is not excessive and if you are spending more than one day in the park is well justified as the road from Mariposa is very slow and prone to roadworks. The Hotel itself is fine with the rooms generously sized and standard rooms well fitted and comfortable.
The restaurant caters for all the guests plus a large outside trade but it is huge and I was given a table after a very short delay. Service was understandably quite slow but the menu was interesting and the food was good. Breakfast was very good with exceptional variety.
On-site amenities include a very useful shop providing supplies (at a price) as well the usual tourist stuff and a useful map of the park.
If you cant get a room when you book your Holiday it is worth contacting the hotel directly just before you are due as they do have cancellations. (that's how I got to stay there there)

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are right on the edge and can be extremely noisy when the river is in spate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is a large building with two lines of two story brick buildings with ten or so units per building. Its is situated just outside of Yosemite Park.
The rooms are large and well appointed with coffee maker, TV, Toiletries and hairdryer.
We had a little kitchenette in our room so you could make your own meals but we choose to go out to the restaurant for dinner and was pleasantly surprised. a lovely meal.
The Hotel is about 30min to Yosemite Valley Park but the scenic river and hills are nice for a good morning walk and a swim in the pool after. We had breakfast on the deck out the back of El Capitan. The babbling river, and humming birds made it a picture postcard experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.