We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just... decent” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just... decent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I'm not sure if it's because we travelled there in low season but what a regret. The room was clean but lacked heating in the washroom. So it was freezing cold when coming out of the shower. Their so called continental breakfast consisted of 6 hard boiled eggs in a plastic bag, coffee but no sugar, some cereal, and juice. DO NOT visit their restaurant called "the river". It was inedible and the hotel shouldn't recommend it to their guests. Better to plan ahead and bring your own food and cook it in the kitchenette. After this experience..I highly doubt i'd ever go back there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    931
    727
    279
    147
See reviews for
813
1,071
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Being located only 5 mins drive from the entrance to Yosemite national park (with nearly all the competition several times this distance) is what keeps this hotel fully booked throughout the season and inevitably commands a premium price. However this is not excessive and if you are spending more than one day in the park is well justified as the road from Mariposa is very slow and prone to roadworks. The Hotel itself is fine with the rooms generously sized and standard rooms well fitted and comfortable.
The restaurant caters for all the guests plus a large outside trade but it is huge and I was given a table after a very short delay. Service was understandably quite slow but the menu was interesting and the food was good. Breakfast was very good with exceptional variety.
On-site amenities include a very useful shop providing supplies (at a price) as well the usual tourist stuff and a useful map of the park.
If you cant get a room when you book your Holiday it is worth contacting the hotel directly just before you are due as they do have cancellations. (that's how I got to stay there there)

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are right on the edge and can be extremely noisy when the river is in spate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is a large building with two lines of two story brick buildings with ten or so units per building. Its is situated just outside of Yosemite Park.
The rooms are large and well appointed with coffee maker, TV, Toiletries and hairdryer.
We had a little kitchenette in our room so you could make your own meals but we choose to go out to the restaurant for dinner and was pleasantly surprised. a lovely meal.
The Hotel is about 30min to Yosemite Valley Park but the scenic river and hills are nice for a good morning walk and a swim in the pool after. We had breakfast on the deck out the back of El Capitan. The babbling river, and humming birds made it a picture postcard experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

stayed here for two nights room room was fine spacious and clean we liked it .cant check in though until three we got there early and had to wait around, make sure you are near reception before three as their is a long line to get checked in . ideal location for the park only fault we found is that there is not much choice in the way of restaurants in the evening there is one but it is quite expensive . great place though fantastic scenery .

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We really liked this place. We couldn't get reservations in the park and at first I was disappointed; but as soon as we walked into our room, that changed. Right on the Merced River with a nice deck (although it was winter and too cold to enjoy it from the outside, even the inside view was lovely. A great gas-log fireplace and a small but well-equipped efficiency station with sink, 2 burner stove, microwave and refridgerater, as well as plates, cups and utensils. There is a restaurant on the premises, but we only ate there once. The food was good, but a little pricey for our pocketbook. We choose to eat in Yosemite Valley before returning to our room every night. It was a 15 minute ride into the Park and another 15 minutes to Yosemite Lodge, but a beautifully scenic drive. We liked the fact that in the evening we could drive away from the hustle and bustle and traffic of the Yosemite Valley,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights as part of a Fly drive holiday. The hotel was located in an ideal position close to the park, and had all the amenities you could want: pools, restaurants, take-away and shop selling everything including beers, wine and ready meals. The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious although a little dated. There were cooking facilities, a sink, fridge and large fire in the room. The view from our balcony was beautiful, and on both days we had breakfast and dinner on the balcony: so peaceful and tranquil. The first day we had pizza (very nice) from the take-away, and the second evening a ready meal from the shop. On the negative side, I found the metal railings around the pool and along the balconies made me feel a bit like I was in prison. Although I appreciate the need for safety, I did think something more aesthetically pleasing could have been used.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of days. It is about 25 min away from the yosemite village. It's the closest hotel to the park except the hotels in the park. We have AT&T and there was no coverage. Wifi was $9 for 24 hours. There was a small kitchen in our room which we took advantage of. No paper towels or spatulas. Towels provided were well used and stained. Hot tub was too hot for comfort. Room smelled like smoke and so did the lobby. The front lobby lobby staff weren't too helpful. When we asked questions about the area they weren't well informed. I overheard them taking a call about times their store was open and they didn't know the hours. The store was not stocked for liquor. There was hardly anything except overpriced flavored liquor and ports. Nothing was open around us as far as restaurants during the time we visited and their restaurant seemed overpriced. Overall it was a nice hotel but we paid $120 night when it was more like a $79 hotel. I guess you pay for convenience to the park.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.