We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Yosemite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yosemite View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good base for Yosemite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as a base to explore Yosemite national park.
The main thing this place has going for it is its location, being very close to the park entry. The room is reasonable, it was clean and fairly comfortable, certainly not flash.
The restaurant staff were very nice.
You have to pay for wifi Internet, and it's only available in the lobby, which is pretty crap.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    833
    621
    218
    110
See reviews for
722
903
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The young people on the front desk were lovely and so helpful. The restaurant (Rivers, on premises) wait staff were really friendly and offered great service. The food was fantastic. (Budget for $10-30 per person, excl. alcoholic beverages). The bar was snug and welcoming. The rooms were clean and everything worked. Kitchenette was well appointed. Shower pressure was good. Included cable (yay!), good coffee, tea and complimentary toiletries. It's a very short drive/ local bus (YARTS) to the park so it was very convenient and offered great savings on the park accommodation. Indoor and outdoor pools. We weren't travelling with children but I can see how comfortable families would find the lodge. I look forward to coming back with the kids!

Extra tips:
1. Look up YARTS time table for getting to and from the park and plan your hikes accordingly. We missed the 0904 bus into the park one morning and were disappointed to have to wait until 1245 for the next one, but that was completely our fault! Don't make the same mistake. :)
2. There is WIFI available in the lobby at a cost, but only if you have your laptop/ device with you. We used the internet kiosk in the park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It's not the most charming motel, but it's about a 10 minute drive from Yosemite N.P, practical and efficient and with lots of amenities like a pizzeria, restaurant, swimming pool etc (you'll probably find a full list of the amenities on various booking websites :) ).

The motel is cheap in comparison to the other hotels and motels that are situated in the park, and you're still gonna need a car to get around the park, so you might as well save the money and stay at the Yosemite View Lodge.

Our room was big, clean and comfortable, but sadly no wi-fi.

We stayed there in late October 2011

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our family(3 adults, 1 kid ages 2.5) enjoyed the 2 nights in Yosemite View Lodge while we stoped at Yosemite during our road trip of the west of the USA. The staff is helpful and friendly. Good kitchenette. Coined laundry is convenience. The location is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First, the location cannot be beat! Only 2 miles from the park entrance and 10 minutes from the Yosemite Valley floor. The lodge is a little dated and has seen a lot of use. During our 3 days there, we saw workers repairing, cleaning, or trimming everything in site, so it is always improving.

We loved the place. The walls are a bit thin and if you have noisy neighbors, you are screwed for sure, but the place was pretty empty mid-week Nov. for us.

Lots of extras we did not expect: twin shower heads, small kitchenette in the room, a writing desk, spa tub in the room, a fireplace (that we could never figure out, even after calling to have someone come over to explain how it worked. But the explanation was in Spanish, so it was lost on us, but we found it kind of funny and never did get it working right).

More extras: outdoor and indoor pools! We swam every day after returning from the park. We found the food in the restaurant on grounds to be very good. The views from the room were great and there is a store attached to the check-in if you need supplies - and they have a lot! Lots to like at the lodge!

The staff is fine, but we found Erica to be especially helpful to us. She answered our many questions honestly, and seemed to be concerned about we visitors. We have already made arrangements to return in March. Great Place!

Room Tip: River view is the way to go. Stay away from the ice machine and especially the jacuzzi machines by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Yosemite View Lodge in October. The rooms were a little outdated, but overall this place is about location, location, location! It is so close to the entrance of Yosemite. We didn't spend a whole lot of time in our room. We stayed 2 nights and both mornings we ate at the breakfast buffet at the Lodge - they have a lot of choices of food on the buffet. We also had pizza one night - which was pretty good. The prices in the Lodge's store were reasonable. We bought water there before going into Yosemite Park - it was more in the park. We liked the patio in the back of our ground floor room that overlooked the Merced River. We did see a bear - We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great location as close to the entrance for Yosemite National Park and easy to locate on the main highway. Warm and informative welcome with lots of facilities on site. Parking outside our 2nd floor room overlooking the Merced River. Room was bit shabby and dated but it had a hob, microwave, fridge and coffee making facilities. If you are here on a hiking and outdoor pursuits agenda I would imagine this would be ideal - there is an on-site laundry as well. Dene was an entertaining host in the well-stocked bar - they have visitors from all over the globe, so every liquor was there! We had a pizza on our second night which was very good. The hotel shop is really bizarre and stocked with "Twin Peaks" products - and some scary dolls........evidence of raccoons raiding the outside bins - we only saw fatty footprints which was a shame. First and foremost this is a great location for the Yosemite - a lot closer than Mariposa.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view are great as they have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.