We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4630 Town Center Blvd, El Dorado Hills, CA 95762   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in El Dorado Hills
La Puente, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Family Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spend three 3 nights at this wonderful Inn, after staying at the Holiday Inn in Fresno over night, our son was married over the week-end in Fair Oaks, which was very close to where the Inn is located. During the days leading to the wedding, we spent time in Folsom, and Placerville, which are both very close, the weather was nice and bright and sunny each day, but cold at night. We loved our room ,and the ability to stay in such a beautiful little town, we felt safe walking to dinner and spending time in town. The cleaning staff was wonderful, we left a tip for one of the ladies that cleaned our room each morning. The only comment I have is that the breakfast area is not suited for the size of the Inn, there are not enough tables, we had to eat while sitting in a couch which is not very comfortable. The area is surrounded by a couch and chairs, there needs to be more tables. The lady that prepared breakfast was very nice, everything was very clean, and well prepared, except for the eggs they were too wet and runny. Other than that we would highly recommend staying in El Dorado Hills. We hope to return again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ground floor space is nice, poolside, but would have preferred a higher floor with a view of the bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jklann4360, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Fressia,
A congratulation on your son’s wedding! We have had such a mild winter with bright sunny days, perfect for the wedding and your exploring Folsom and Placerville.
I appreciate your excellent review of the hotel cleanliness, rooms and service. On weekends, we have so many wonderful families who linger over breakfast and catch up with one another. I am sorry you were not able to secure table space when you had your breakfast.
The sun is still shining; we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Jennie Klann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    24
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
21
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

After a bad experience at a hotel in Sacramento, we decided to stay at the HIE El Dorado. We and another couple needed rooms right away and the staff was very helpful. In fact every staff member we encountered was very polite and this is a sign of good management. More importantly the room was very clean, as we had left a previous hotel due to lack of cleanliness. We also liked the location since we have family in Sacramento and Placerville. Additionally, there are several restaurants and stores within walking distance. Though we weren't planning to stay there on this trip, it turned out to be a great experience.

Room Tip: We had a room with a pool and hill view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jklann4360, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Michael L.,
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We pride ourselves on the professionalism of our staff and property cleanliness. Thank you for noticing!
Please come back and stay with us the next time you are in the Sacramento area. Well make sure you have another “great experience”.
Kind Regards,
Jennie Klann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you are in El Dorado Hills visiting friends or family. There are great restaurants in walking distance and shopping too.

Rooms are clean and cute just need some upgrading.

Breakfast is average. Could use some less processed and sugary options. There is fruit and cereals. Weird eggs and meats and a pancake machine. Rolls and breads. Yogurts.

The front desk staff is average to great only they seem to lack some traditional hospitality training. I called for a wine opener and had to go to front to get myself. Hotel was extremely quiet they could have offered to bring to room. The breakfast staff could give the front desk staff some training. They are lovely. Offered us a highchair. Turned on a show for my children and generally were just fabulous to chat with and seemed to really love being there. Excellent staff!

Some rooms on first floor have outdoor access and some higher level floors have balconies. If you get a room in the back of the hotel it's worth the money because you look onto a walking trail and water feature. Walk right out and have dinner at Bistro 33.

Down the trail is frozen yogurt and a gourmet grocery store along with other restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Location is great. You're smack in the middle of the town center with numerous stores and restaurants. Staff was friendly and the cookie at check in is always a big plus. Rooms were spacious and clean. Good value compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Usually rooms on 1st floor are a little nosey but was actually very quiet at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our experience here was terrific from start to finish. Check in was easy. The staff (Paul) was very welcoming. We mentioned that we were going to visit Apple Hill, and he gave us a map and some tips on his favorite orchards to visit. The room was clean and very spacious, as we were upgraded to a suite -- what a wonderful surprise! Fast, free wi-fi. Full breakfast was better than average with cinnamon rolls, plus the usual eggs, sausage, etc. Pancake maker was a neat novelty, though not the best pancakes. I appreciated having soy milk available as a non-dairy alternative. Location is really convenient, close to the freeway and can walk to the marketplace with a plethora of dining options and shopping. Check out was fast and efficient. Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jklann4360, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear dragonjj8,
We strive to give great service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for noticing the excellent customer service Paul provided.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Once again, thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.
Kind Regards,
Jennie Klann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed 5 nights: most plusses, some small things not so good:
Let's begin with the little things I did not like; the window only opens 2 inches, probably because of security. So airco on all night, which switches on and off every few minutes.
The breakfast from well-known paper plates and plastic form, knife and spoon is typical for Holiday Inn Express: lots of Sugar, and no "real bread". Also, plain yoghurt mostly not available, so only flavoured ....
The good points: very quiet, and sports facilities with beautful swimmimg pools next door ( US$ 15 day pass ), plus nice area with foodchoices nearby and 12 choices cinema, with 3D movies!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jklann4360, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear 2012Robin99,
Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay at out hotel. You are correct about the window only opening a few inches, this is a required safety feature. The next time you stay with us, request a balcony or poolside room which have sliding glass doors that fully open. With our year round beautiful weather, it is nice to have the fresh air.
Holiday Inn Express has heard your comments regarding the breakfast bar. They will be coming out with new products early 2014. One of the new products will be Greek yogurt, plain and flavoured – along with a topping station.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards,
Jennie Klann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay 1 night at the Holiday Inn Express on our way from Santa Cruz to Lake Tahoe. What a find! Our family of four enjoyed our brief stay at this hotel - we loved the pool & spa, super fast wifi, breakfast (included), location, friendly staff & room size. Overall, terrific value for money!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jklann4360, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear kjc9009,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while making your way to Lake Tahoe. It sounds as though you spent your time with us relaxing and enjoying some of the amenities our hotel has to offer. The pool and spa are heated year round, come back and see us again.
Thank you for the kind words. I appreciate you taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip up the hill.
Kind Regards,
Jennie Klann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel

Address: 4630 Town Center Blvd, El Dorado Hills, CA 95762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Dorado Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in El Dorado Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in El Dorado Hills, California, is centrally located on highway 50 between Lake Tahoe and San Francisco, just minutes from Sacramento. We are conveniently located in the Town Center on the beautiful shore of a small lake. With its picture perfect scenery and endless variety of activities, El Dorado Hills is the ideal destination whether you are traveling on business or seeking a weekend getaway. For the business traveler local corporate offices include DST, AMDOCS, Blue Shield, Intel, Aerojet, Kikkoman Foods, and the El Dorado Hills Business Park. Folsom Lake, the American River and the Sierra foothills border El Dorado Hills. From world class golfing to hiking, skiing, and white water rafting, cycling, or wine tasting, your favorite way to play is never far away. Within walking distance guests can enjoy the Regal 14 screen movie theater and a variety of fine and casual dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn El Dorado Hills
El Dorado Hills Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;