We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing alternative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamiyan Afghan Restaurant

Bamiyan Afghan Restaurant
1121 White Rock Rd, El Dorado Hills, CA 95762-5584
916-941-8787
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Afghan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Latrobe Road
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A refreshing alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My brother's fiancée and I ate lunch on the patio. The fresh air and sunshine plus delicious food created high spirits. I'd love to go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This was my first experience tasting Afghan food and I loved it. The restaurant is lovely and our server was exceptional. They had a nice wine list and the prices were very reasonable. I can not remember the exact dish I had, but was fabulous. There were 5 of us for dinner and we all shared a bite of each others dishes. Everything I tasted that night was really good and if we were ever in El Dorado Hills again, we would definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our absolute favorite in gourmet dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The food, service, and atmosphere has always been outstanding. A nice quiet restaurant with light yet lively background music. A wonderful restaurant to enjoy conversation with one another.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

It has been a couple months since we ate there, but we will be there again very soon. Thee food is vey good, and the service is very good. Afghan food is not spicy or overly exotic. It is plain and very good. I would call it comfort food. The pumpkin dish and the bean dish are my two favorites.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Afghan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I've had a LOT of Afghan food, most of it home cooked. Bamiyan is very authentic and wonderfully tasty! One thing I've noticed with Afghan food is that the frequently the same dish is prepared and presented differently depending on the region of influence. I guess that's pretty common with most ethnic foods, like Mexican, etc. So, some ot their dishes are slightly different than what I'm used to, but excellent nonetheless.

This is not Indian, but there are similarities. Indian is usually way overspiced - this is typical Afghan, which isn't. Do yourself a favor, get out of your comfort box and try something you don't recognize or can't get anywhere else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamiyan Afghan Restaurant also viewed

 
El Dorado Hills, CA
El Dorado Hills, CA
 

Been to Bamiyan Afghan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamiyan Afghan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.