We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamiyan Afghan Restaurant

Bamiyan Afghan Restaurant
1121 White Rock Rd, El Dorado Hills, CA 95762-5584
916-941-8787
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Afghan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Latrobe Road
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I been meaning to try this place for months now and sorry it took me so long.what a wounderful meal! Fresh fresh fresh!! Never had Afghan food before and it was wounderful to try the differnt meals. Went there with three other friends for lunch and we each tried the others meal. Will go again very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, CA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful, authenic Afghani food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My friend and I had lunch at the Citrus Heights restaurant today. Our server was friendly and made several helpful suggestions. I ordered Kofta, Afghani meatballs in a seasoned sauce served with brown rice and sauteed spinach. My friend had the Chicken Shammi Kebab, ground white meat mixed with onions and seasoning. This was served with traditional rice and eggplant. Our meals were delicious. The meat was tender and perfectly seasoned. The vegetables were done to perfection. The lunch specials are reasonably priced and the portions are ample.

The dinner menu includes a large selection of appetizers, meat and fish kebabs, interesting entrees and desserts. Children's portions are available. There is also a bar with a varied wine selection.

Bamiyan is well worth a visit for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“authentic food in a cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We've eaten at Bamiyan in Citrus Heights (same family as El Dorado Hills) many times over the past 8 or 9 years. The food is superb, interesting, aromatic and delicately spiced without being too spicy for my very sensitive taste. There are excellent selections for vegetarians and fish eaters as well as for those who eat meat. We love the quiet, pleasant and warm feeling that the owners' family provide. We have had them cater an event (take out) and everyone loved how distinctive and special the dishes were. I highly recommend Bamiyan as one of our all time favorite special restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The food is simply delicious everything else could improve a little bit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If I were the owner of this place, I would throw the TV out as it spoils the atmosphere. You can see that someone has put effort into creating here an ethnic atmosphere (afghan rugs, light fixtures, art pieces) and then just ruined everything by hanging a television above the bar. I observe it in many places and can't figure out why people keep on doing this. But enough about ambiance, let's talk food. The food is simply delicious! The lamb, was outstanding - tender and tasty, not too hot and spicy but just full of flavor. The rice was cooked incredibly light and served with shredded carrots and raisins. The eggplant was amazing, subtle yet wonderfully complex, and change throughout the dish. As well, any of their dishes can be made vegetarian for anyone that is not a meat eater. I also liked the rose flavored pudding for the sweet finish. The size of the portions were just right so you finish feeling nicely full not stuffed. Hidden behind the El Dorado Town Center Shopping Center, Bamiyan is usually pretty quiet so you can always find a table, which for me is a plus as I don't like to plan in advance where I would eat. Unfortunately the service is rather slow and laborious but the food makes up for the wait. Bamiyan is on the expensive side, but well worth it for a great meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It's is so nice to have an excellent El Dorado Hills resturant that serves ethnic food. We've eaten here several times and love the food! It is fresh, flavorable and unique. If you are vegetarian you will love it as well. The eggplant is delicious.

The owner and servers are very friendly and gracious.

It's a bit pricey but the high quality food makes it worth the trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamiyan Afghan Restaurant also viewed

El Dorado Hills, CA
 
El Dorado Hills, CA
 

Been to Bamiyan Afghan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamiyan Afghan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.