We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really to recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Motel

Save Saved
You added Crown Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 North Imperial Avenue, El Centro, CA 92243 (Formerly Econo Lodge El Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from 10%-20% OFF!
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in El Centro
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“really to recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

the crown motel has very clean and nice rooms,very good rate,center located,friendly staff,
softdrink and ice machines are available,micro in the room,big flat screen tv,coffe making machine in the room,fast wifi which is free of charge,parking in front of the room,
in a nutshell "it is a motel to recommend".
kind regards
p keemss & wife
phuket/thailand

Room Tip: before you sign for a room,inspect any of them just to check cleanness,so i always do, after decide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vijaykumar p, General Manager at Crown Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We appreciate all of our guests and we do our best to keep a good rate, clean rooms and good customer service. Thank you for noticing and please come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here based on the good reviews and the low price: we were not disappointed. The rooms were modern and clean and the bed very comfortable. There are plenty of places to eat close by. We thought it was the perfect place for an overnight stop if you're traveling to/from San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vijaykumar p, Manager at Crown Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate your patonage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

From the I stepped through the door I felt WELCOME. Greeted with a smile and a warm hello. Just as you should when staying at a hotel. The woman at the front desk so very accommodating to me and my entire family. She was able to accommodate me and my husbands family next to each other. Needless to say check in was a breeze.

I thought the rooms were great for what we paid. Sure, they are dated and old. But El Centro is dated and old and for a dated motel this place is comfortable. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the rooms. Ample counter space in the room we were in. The rooms were wuite spacious. They also accommodated my pets, which is a big deal for me when traveling.

I cannot rant about the staff enough. They were very accommodating and hospitable. Kudos!

When in El Centro again, we will stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vijaykumar p, General Manager at Crown Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We try our best to accommodate our guests. Thank you for the kind words and please come back and stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg PA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect as this appeared to be an older property and I didn't know much about the area. However, I went with the reviews posted by others and it was worth it. At first glance, it does look old and tired but once you are inside the room, you can see the results of renovations. I talked to the owner the next morning while I was eating some of the continental offerings. She said that they had bought the property over a year ago and had already made a lot of renovations. I told her that we were impressed with the rooms and happy with them. Although there were a lot of people staying there, it appeared that most were day workers and once they were back for the day, were ready to rest up and so all was good. The clerk who checked us in was very nice and efficient and directed us to the Guadalajara Restaurant nearby that we went to both nights. Very fine Mexican food. I would not hesitate to stay here or recommend it to others. I am very confident that the owners are going to persevere and finish with a fine-looking motel.

Room Tip: First floor room would have been handier but these were all taken. Thus, you have to carry everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vijaykumar p, Manager at Crown Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Since taking over this property we have upgraded many things and are currently still working on many upgrades, we thank you for noticing and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you need to overnight in El Centro this is the place. Conveniently located on Imperial Ave. across the street from the #1 Trip Advisor rated, steak restaurant in town. Big parking lot so pulling in with a trailer or RV is no problem. Our lower level room had new carpet, nice paint and new tile in bathroom, comfortable king sized bed, good T.V., password protected wi-fi, quiet fridge and microwave. $46 including tax! My wife enjoyed some time in the pool today. Did I mention the shower head is 7' off the floor. Much better than the ones where you have to be 5' tall or less to get under it. Plenty of hot water. Owners are very receptive. We stay here a couple times a year during our transit from Arizona to Baja and back. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Just ask the owner to show you the room. She showed me 5 today until I found one that met my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vijaykumar p, Manager at Crown Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Although this review is older, we still appreciate your business and feedback, we hope if you are ever back in El Centro you come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

From the outside it look very luxury. The room that we stayed in was very comfortable and spacious. We rented the suit. My wife was so happy with the place. A/C was great and the room was very clean. The owners were very nice and friendly. Also, everything was near by. McDonalds across the street and Vons near by. I forgot to mention that the beds were very cozy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vijaykumar p, Manager at Crown Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Even though this review is old, we still Thank you for your great feedback and for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville tn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

This place certainly isn't luxurious, but it is very clean and well-kept. The owner is very friendly and helpful. As per the previous reviewer, ask for a renovated room -- they have redone the tiling and fixtures in some of the bathrooms. Our room was spacious and included a fridge. And you can't beat the price!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vijaykumar p, Manager at Crown Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Even thought this review is old we thank you for your patronage and your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Motel

Address: 330 North Imperial Avenue, El Centro, CA 92243 (Formerly Econo Lodge El Centro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > El Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in El Centro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Motel takes great care to make sure our customers feel as if they're at home. With amenities like Air Conditioned rooms, Free WiFi, Full Cable HBO Micro/Fridge, Iron and ironing boards. You are sure to be comfortable, We have Free off-street parking so come and enjoy our Pool and BBQ area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.