We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of quoted price and actual price, terrible owners” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites El Centro

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites El Centro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn & Suites El Centro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Wake Avenue, El Centro, CA 92243   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in El Centro
El Centro, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Beware of quoted price and actual price, terrible owners”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Called and was quoted $280/wk for room with kitchenette. Arrived and was told it would be $330/wk and no kitchenette for 2 days. After 2 days no one remembered my kitchenette. Owner promised it would be ready on 3rd day. On 3rd day owner was out of town and no one knew about the kitchenette, actually all kitchenettes were already booked. No room was ever available. Shop around, there are nicer, cleaner, more efficient motels close by. Stay away from here.

P.S.--No WiFi in building farthest from office (where they put me).

Room Tip: Stay away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    4
    0
    6
See reviews for
8
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canon City, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I recently had to stay in El Centro CA and decided to get a room. After seeing the price of some of the hotels in the area I was looking I choose the Roadway Inn.
A very nice little motel. Reminded me of motels of the past, small and comfortable rooms. Quite and I got a good nights sleep. The room I was in, and the others I assume, had a refridgerator and microwave. Not a posh motel but did very well for my nights stay and a good deal against the others around with their high prices.
Places to eat at nearby.
My only draw back on this motel was that there is no truck parking at the motel, but there is a truck stop across the street, so it works out. Also if you are traveling with a trailer, you may find parking problems as lot is narrow.
If you're looking for a nights stay during your trip, I would recommend this place. Don't expect to much, but expect a great little motel and good night sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had stayed at the El Centro location because it was part way between our home and where our relative was hospitalized.

In the AM we wanted to clean up and get going quickly since the relative was not doing well. We went to shower and it didn't work. IF, big IF, housekeeping cleaned it they would have been able to see that it didn't work and put in a maintenance request to fix it. Obviously they didn’t so, most likely, the shower was not cleaned before the room was rented out.

When a room is paid for we should have a working shower, toilet, running water and clean room. That is what you expect when you need a room for the night when you are a way from home.

The woman at the front desk gave us crap because we didn’t want to drag our stuff to another room to shower. And, who knows if that room had been cleaned. She grudgingly gave us 10% off, really not enough. We will not stay there again!!!! Rodeway will not be our CHOICE of hotels in the future, and we have burned our rewards card.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Centro hotels

LAS CRUCES
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is just off I-8 and is less expensive than the nearby choices -- Comfort Inn and Best Western. There is an I-HOP restaurant nearby and an In-and-Out Burger next door. The room was clean. The internet worked well. The room had a fridge and microwave, but no coffee maker. It had a TV with lots of channels. The room was a bit small with a king bed, but it had a desk and a chest of drawers. The heat worked well. The breakfast looked minimal --the desk clerk spoke of coffee and orange juice. The building surrounds the parking lot. Once one drives through the high gate, it seems a bit like a fort.

Room Tip: We had a room near the hotel lobby and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is so unprofessional, dirty and THIEVES!! People came in to put in a new mattress when we were out and I noticed my expensive voice recorder was GONE! They owner did NOTHING to help us! He did not CARE! After we complained we got terrible looks from the housekeeper and treated terrible! FLOORS ARE GROSS! Pool was dirty, this place was a Joke, go some place else!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had to make a unplanned trip to El Centro in July and had to spend the night. Hotel was easy access to freeway and the price was right. We had a refrigerator, mircowave and coffee maker Continental breakfast was more than coffee and sweet rolls. They had cereal, fruit, muffins, doughnuts, juices. Much more than I expected. Rooms were adequate, airconditioning was working all in all was very nice. This hotel sits back far enough from the freeway so that you do not hear any freeway traffic.

Room Tip: All rooms are within a secured area, meaning only one way in and one way out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our room was a good size, the beds were comfortable and everything worked fine. We had a kitchen, large stove, microwave and fridge. However, the carpet was filthy; when our son was walking around with bare feet in the morning I noticed they were black. He cleaned them with a wet cloth, which made the while cloth black too. There were stain and splodges all over it. There is no excuse for leaving such dirty carpets down, it's horrible for guests to put up with this. Why don't they just take up the carpets and put down a wipeable floor covering?

We had a cockroach fall off the ceiling onto our bed, luckily we were still awake. This is a hot place so we don't blame the hotel owners. We've never had cockroaches before, though, in all our years of travelling across this country every summer.

The breakfast was OK, except for the 'juice' which is that awful fake stuff, full of chemicals and sugar. Why can't they go to Costco, or wherever, and provide real juice I don't know: that stuff is disgusting. Given that the hotel is in California, it's an added insult. We have noticed, over the years, that most hotels do now provided decent food and real juice, but some obviously haven't grasped the basics yet. Perhaps they don't care about their guests enough?

Checking in and out was quick and painless, the pool was OK but I was glad we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites El Centro

Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn El Centro
El Centro Rodeway Inn
Address: 455 Wake Avenue, El Centro, CA 92243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > El Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in El Centro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites El Centro 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites El Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites El Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.