We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celia's is a great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celia's

Celia's
1530 W. Adams Ave., El Centro, CA
760/352-4570
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 91 Restaurants in El Centro
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Celia's is a great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Love the food! Always a great dinner with friends and family. Service is decent but great for the valley!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Authentic Mexican food, with very friendly atmosphere. The Colorado river chili is a must try. Waiter is very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“The best Mexican food in 70 years.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I grew up eating Mexican food from street vendors in Mexicali during the War. I've eaten Mexican food all my life in Mexico and the U.S. I never again found the Mexican food I savored as a child.
I thought it must be me. That is until I happened into Celia's. Suddenly those flavors and tastes I remembered as a child came rushing back.
What excitement! It's been a couple of weeks now. I still can't stop thinking about it.
The mole on the cheese and onion enchilada. The frijoles that I remembered, not at all bland but rich. The tacos were of a different time and place. I want to go back. Some day I will.
I made new friends of Celia and Cecilia. Two charmers who made this happen.
I'm almost 80 and live in Kansas City but some day I'll make it back. This was the best!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Love love love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The special quesadillas are my favorite and I cannot get them anywhere else in the country! The shredded beef tacos are yummy.. We always visit here when we visit the Imperial Valley! Highly recommend for good local Mexican food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal Desert
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't Beat It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Celia's is home to me. I grew up with La Hacienda by Imperial Airport. Same Food, Same Great Service!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celia's also viewed

El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 
El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 

Been to Celia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celia's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.