We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Carino's

Johnny Carino's
3203 S Dogwood Rd, El Centro, CA 92243
760-337-9588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in El Centro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were traveling through El Centro and enjoyed our dinner at Johnny Carino's restaurant very much. The pizza was great. The fresh Italian rolls and butter was nice as well. It was better than average for sure. And the atmosphere and service was good as well.
We would stop there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Centro,CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret for The Best Happy Hour in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food is delicious always. But we enjoy the wing nights especially! It's a great atmosphere to enjoy dinner with the family or a nice get together with friends. Prices to meet every budget. They have great happy hour specials all the time. But note those specials are only provided at the bar area not at dining. Luckily, they recently expanded that area. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent at Johnny Carino's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

If the outside looks were any indication towards the quality of the food, we could expect a nice meal.
After a shared appetizer of Italian wings we went onto 2 pizzas, likewise shared between us. The crusty edge and rich topping was nothing short of being delicious.
We ordered dessert too.

3 desserts to share. Number 1 was a lemon cream cake, Number 2 was tiramisu and number 3 was Italian chocolate cake served warm and with vanilla ice cream. The desserts cannot be described other than being a wild feast of heavenly taste.

And being a dessert-kind-of-guy I was more than impressed about the portions served. Especially the tiramisu and the chocolate cake would have been enough to make desserts for 2 persons each.This restaurant also offers an impressively long list of different bottled beers and drafts.And if you are still not convinced: Service was great too.
Matching the quality of the food were the prices. After all it’s not a Denny’s or a fast food joint. But I wouldn’t call anything on their menu for overprized.
See a full review with pics at: http://american-traveler.blogspot.com/2014/03/a-great-place-to-eat.html

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“American Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Early dinner tonight and the place was to capacity at 4pm. Salads are extra when ordering just a small heads up. My peperoni pepperoni pizza was cooked in a wood fired oven and came out light and crispy. No real hint of smoke flavor but that was ok since the pepperoni was extra spicy. A good pie that passed the slice fold test. My wife had the lasagna and I traded a slice for a taste. Ricotta was fluffy and the sauce was rich and flavorful. Portion size is perfect. Great place and if you get a choice sit near the open kitchen to get some great entertainment of the flurry of activity they call the dinner rush.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Just awful.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Bad service, bad food. Ordered the Rosemary Chicken. Do not do that. Not rosemary... It was like they made a sauce out of store brand Italian dressing and a lot of corn syrup, then glopped it onto everything. Rolls contain fennel - which is good if you like fennel. "Fresh" vegetables were fozen. Spaghetti was also pretty lame, but at least it was edible. Cannot recommend.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Carino's also viewed

El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 
El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 

Been to Johnny Carino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Carino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.