We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Carino's

Johnny Carino's
3203 S Dogwood Rd, El Centro, CA 92243
760-337-9588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 93 Restaurants in El Centro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“American Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Early dinner tonight and the place was to capacity at 4pm. Salads are extra when ordering just a small heads up. My peperoni pepperoni pizza was cooked in a wood fired oven and came out light and crispy. No real hint of smoke flavor but that was ok since the pepperoni was extra spicy. A good pie that passed the slice fold test. My wife had the lasagna and I traded a slice for a taste. Ricotta was fluffy and the sauce was rich and flavorful. Portion size is perfect. Great place and if you get a choice sit near the open kitchen to get some great entertainment of the flurry of activity they call the dinner rush.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Just awful.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Bad service, bad food. Ordered the Rosemary Chicken. Do not do that. Not rosemary... It was like they made a sauce out of store brand Italian dressing and a lot of corn syrup, then glopped it onto everything. Rolls contain fennel - which is good if you like fennel. "Fresh" vegetables were fozen. Spaghetti was also pretty lame, but at least it was edible. Cannot recommend.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Service and smiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Carino's serves excellent meals with a super special almost every day! Hands over a much better choice than Olive Garden. The bar has a special drink and food every day. Not a bad thing to say about this franchise eatery.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Love this one,,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

After a terrible experience at the restaurant next door, we proceeded to this one and it was sure worthwhile. Our food was awesome, the service was great. We would certainly eat here again. Lasagna is one of the best I have eaten. Lunch menu is reasonably priced with great size portions.. Can't go wrong with this one...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dinner, January 31, 2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very busy at 6 PM but we were able to score a table in the bar. Noisy! We had to talk very loud to hear each other. Food was just so so. My Chicken Parm was over cooked and dry. Service was just average. Our server came to our table very fast and returned with our drinks promptly but to get refills we had to flag her down. Probably will never go back on a payday Friday!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Carino's also viewed

El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 
El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 

Been to Johnny Carino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Carino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.