We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely acceptable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express El Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express El Centro to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express El Centro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Smoketree Drive, El Centro, CA 92243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in El Centro
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely acceptable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Found ourselves in El Centro without a reservation. Stopped at the HIE and they took great care of us. Yes the wireless Internet was a bit slow in the evening but in the morning it was fine. Desk clerk was pleasant to deal with, as we're all the employees we encountered. Rooms were very typical HIE.

Next time we head to El Centro we'll definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistaF, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Centro, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. It is feedback such as yours that enables us to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our guests. We sincerely hope to see you on your next visit to El Centro.

Warm Regards,

Calista Fulton
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
10
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odiham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I am currently staying in this Hotel long term working in the Navy Air Facility in total 60+ days.... everyday I dread going back to the hotel.

Poolside

The Jacuzzi is always dirty.
The swimming pool is so cold, just don't go in it, even relaxing by the pool is not an option as there is only 2 sun loungers... both broken!!
Looking for shade?? nah, even the parasells are broken!
BBQ?? if you want to ruin a bird's habitat that's growing in there!!

Hotel Services.

I have been woken up by someone hammering the floors replacing the carpet at 7am, someone snoring next door (the walls are paper thin) and someone having sex! I went to use the washing facilities and they burnt a hole though my clothes, the hotel did not provide replacements or cover the costs of the damage.
The hotel receptionists are very friendly and do their best to help but clearly are lacking any sort of managerial skills.

Hotel Rooms.

Generally from what I have experienced the rooms are kept to a reasonable standard, the towels are changed and beds made daily, however the cleaners have very little respect for peoples property, I have found stuff I have left on the bed scrunched up on the side with the bin left on top of them!
The shower head was broken when we arrived and we have since found cockroaches in the in the room- Unacceptable!

The biggest most annoying fact about the whole hotel is the ridiculously slow, barely non existent WiFi... they have about 5 routers but still you loose connection every 10-15 mins.... I had better internet service in Afghanistan living in a tent!!

I have complained to the manager and still nothing has changed.... rating this hotel as 'Terrible' is generous to say the least!

Room Tip: Motel 6 across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistaF, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Centro, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
My sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. With the information you provided, it has enabled us to address these concerns and hopefully served the purpose of salvaging your stay.

I can assure you that your experience is not typical of our usual standard of service as we usually do a much better job of taking care of our guests. I hope that in your remaining time with us, we are able to meet and exceed your standards of excellence. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel should be listed as a trainer. Nothing in the hotel is above average. Everything is standard. Check in staff, housekeeping, room size and design. The good: it is just off the freeway, restaurants are nearby, check in is simple, housekeeping staff are helpful. The bad: walls are thin. Hallway noise can be disturbing. Flat screen TV, but not in high def. Bathroom fan is loud. Bed is not firm, it is hard. The ugly: breakfast is subpar. Hot food is bland. You are better served with having continental style breakfast here or eat off site. Discounts aren't offered, by the staff you have to ask.

Although there is room for improvement, it isn't a bad place to stay. Because most things here are average it should be used as a training site for hospitality students. A few upgrades in what is offered would warrant a better grade. Don't expect much here because you won't get much. I would stay here again but in a suite.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Centro, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
acoachcool,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is a very basic clean room hotel. We asked for a room overlooking the pool to escape the noise. The parking is a little crazy at the front with some of those tiny tiny spots that you use a can opener to get in and out of your car, but there is more parking in the back. When showering in the morning the water turned suddenly to SCALDING HOT. I jumped out of the water and waited a minute and it turned back. I had to go back under to get off the shampoo....and after a few minutes it went SCALDING HOT AGAIN. It burnt my behind! Not blistering...but large red burn spots! BE CAREFUL!

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express El Centro, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear azahunting,

I apologize for the issues you had with the water.
We take comments such as your very seriously.
I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.
I look forward to hearing back from you.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel was noisy, and the internet was almost impossible to get and the business centre was one computer in middle of lobby. Terrible for business. Hotels are limited in this place but def. not for those who have to work while they travel.

Room Tip: as far from noisy lobby as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Centro, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Odessasteppe,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that you were having problems connecting to the internet. Next time you are here please let us know so we can assist you
with the connection. Once again, Thanks for your time.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

In El Centro your choices are limited the Marriott properties by the mall are a little nicer but this hotel is perfectly usable. Not a top performer and it doesn't distinguish itself in any regard but you get what you can expect from this brand. The location is good one exit west of Dogwood. So you are close to most everything. Nice flat screen TVs but no HDTV content so a bit of a waste. The staff is not as friendly as many you will find elsewhere





  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I often come to El Centro, so thought this one was worth a shot. The hotel seems very nice from the outside and lobby. Location could be better as it does not have anything other than fast food close by. The rooms are better than other hotels I have found here, but my stay had lots of problems. #1 horrible smell. I find out that one of the trash cans was still full. Previous occupant of the room had left a tuna can. Who knows how long that had been there. #2 AC unit did not work. I had to call maintenance who determined housekeeping had unplugged the unit while vacuuming, thus preventing me from using the thermostat. #3 no wifi in my room. No service despite multiple tries. Wifi worked at the outdoor pool and in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express El Centro

Address: 350 Smoketree Drive, El Centro, CA 92243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > El Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in El Centro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express El Centro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your best option for service, comfort, and value in the Southern California desert. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in El Centro offers 100 beautifully appointed, all non-smoking rooms and minisuites with a variety of features and amenities available to ensure that your travel needs are well taken care of. Be sure to start your day off right with our Express Start breakfast; we also have conference and banquet rooms available for your event or business needs. All rooms come equipped with free high speed Internet access, in-room fridge and microwaves, irons, ironing boards, hairdryers and in-room coffee services. Pay per view movies and games are available as well. Pamper yourself in one of our Jacuzzi or balcony suites. We are centrally located in El Centro and within minutes of many recreational activities including golfing, fishing, birdwatching, bowling, museums, shopping and fine dining. El Centro Regional Medical Center and Centinela State Prison are located nearby. The Imperial Valley is famous for seasonal activities such as the Cattle Call Rodeo, the Midwinter Fair and Fiestaand the Blue Angels Air Show, held annually at the nearby Naval Air Facility.Be sure to check out the Imperial Valley Sand Dunesor Glamis, where scenes from your favorite movies have been filmed. Also experience the unique culture south of the border in Mexicali, Mexico, which is known for its shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express El Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express El Centro Hotel El Centro
Holiday Inn El Centro
El Centro Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express El Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.