We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at Best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express El Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express El Centro to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express El Centro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Smoketree Drive, El Centro, CA 92243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in El Centro
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel should be listed as a trainer. Nothing in the hotel is above average. Everything is standard. Check in staff, housekeeping, room size and design. The good: it is just off the freeway, restaurants are nearby, check in is simple, housekeeping staff are helpful. The bad: walls are thin. Hallway noise can be disturbing. Flat screen TV, but not in high def. Bathroom fan is loud. Bed is not firm, it is hard. The ugly: breakfast is subpar. Hot food is bland. You are better served with having continental style breakfast here or eat off site. Discounts aren't offered, by the staff you have to ask.

Although there is room for improvement, it isn't a bad place to stay. Because most things here are average it should be used as a training site for hospitality students. A few upgrades in what is offered would warrant a better grade. Don't expect much here because you won't get much. I would stay here again but in a suite.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Centro, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
acoachcool,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
10
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is a very basic clean room hotel. We asked for a room overlooking the pool to escape the noise. The parking is a little crazy at the front with some of those tiny tiny spots that you use a can opener to get in and out of your car, but there is more parking in the back. When showering in the morning the water turned suddenly to SCALDING HOT. I jumped out of the water and waited a minute and it turned back. I had to go back under to get off the shampoo....and after a few minutes it went SCALDING HOT AGAIN. It burnt my behind! Not blistering...but large red burn spots! BE CAREFUL!

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express El Centro, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear azahunting,

I apologize for the issues you had with the water.
We take comments such as your very seriously.
I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.
I look forward to hearing back from you.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel was noisy, and the internet was almost impossible to get and the business centre was one computer in middle of lobby. Terrible for business. Hotels are limited in this place but def. not for those who have to work while they travel.

Room Tip: as far from noisy lobby as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Centro, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Odessasteppe,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that you were having problems connecting to the internet. Next time you are here please let us know so we can assist you
with the connection. Once again, Thanks for your time.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

In El Centro your choices are limited the Marriott properties by the mall are a little nicer but this hotel is perfectly usable. Not a top performer and it doesn't distinguish itself in any regard but you get what you can expect from this brand. The location is good one exit west of Dogwood. So you are close to most everything. Nice flat screen TVs but no HDTV content so a bit of a waste. The staff is not as friendly as many you will find elsewhere





  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I often come to El Centro, so thought this one was worth a shot. The hotel seems very nice from the outside and lobby. Location could be better as it does not have anything other than fast food close by. The rooms are better than other hotels I have found here, but my stay had lots of problems. #1 horrible smell. I find out that one of the trash cans was still full. Previous occupant of the room had left a tuna can. Who knows how long that had been there. #2 AC unit did not work. I had to call maintenance who determined housekeeping had unplugged the unit while vacuuming, thus preventing me from using the thermostat. #3 no wifi in my room. No service despite multiple tries. Wifi worked at the outdoor pool and in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Rooms are typical. Breakfast was always an issue - kept running out of food, juice, etc. Dryer ruined several pieces of clothes and management was not responsive to fixing or coming up with any other option. This hotel gets worse every year!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I attempted to check in early but my room wasnt ready - the front desk staff could not have been nicer and even called to have the room made up early for me. They were all so very friendly. The hotel is very nice for a Holiday Inn and while I was there they were just landscaping all around the hotel. It seems very new. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express El Centro

Address: 350 Smoketree Drive, El Centro, CA 92243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > El Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in El Centro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express El Centro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your best option for service, comfort, and value in the Southern California desert. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in El Centro offers 100 beautifully appointed, all non-smoking rooms and minisuites with a variety of features and amenities available to ensure that your travel needs are well taken care of. Be sure to start your day off right with our Express Start breakfast; we also have conference and banquet rooms available for your event or business needs. All rooms come equipped with free high speed Internet access, in-room fridge and microwaves, irons, ironing boards, hairdryers and in-room coffee services. Pay per view movies and games are available as well. Pamper yourself in one of our Jacuzzi or balcony suites. We are centrally located in El Centro and within minutes of many recreational activities including golfing, fishing, birdwatching, bowling, museums, shopping and fine dining. El Centro Regional Medical Center and Centinela State Prison are located nearby. The Imperial Valley is famous for seasonal activities such as the Cattle Call Rodeo, the Midwinter Fair and Fiestaand the Blue Angels Air Show, held annually at the nearby Naval Air Facility.Be sure to check out the Imperial Valley Sand Dunesor Glamis, where scenes from your favorite movies have been filmed. Also experience the unique culture south of the border in Mexicali, Mexico, which is known for its shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express El Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express El Centro Hotel El Centro
Holiday Inn El Centro
El Centro Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express El Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.