We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exotic Thai Bistro

Exotic Thai Bistro
1461 S. Fourth St., El Centro, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 89 Restaurants in El Centro
Cuisines: Thai
Description: It's been in business at least ten years.
Restaurant details
Description: It's been in business at least ten years.
Avondale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The staff was attentive, fast and polite. We were surprised with the great meal we had out in the middle of nowhere El Centro! Super clean restaurant, great and extensive menu. Will be a must stop if we ever end up in El Centro again!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    16
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I met a colleague at this location when we were in El Centro for a presentation. I read the reviews and had high expectations. The food was wonderful and I was not disappointed. It was a little hard however to know exactly where the restaurant was located though because although there is a huge sign by the road, there was no actual sign on the door to the building, or on any windows etc... The restaurant is located in a strip mall so it really could have been in any one of the sections along the building. My colleague made the same mistake so I was reassured it was not just me. They would be better off putting some sort of sign on the building as well. Other than that, I would highly recommend this place, great good, clean tables, and service was great. The decor could have been improved, but I'm not all about the setting, I'd rather have clean surroundings at the very least, and great food. This place offered both.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Arrive hungry, leave full for a few $$'s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had heard about this place and so I really wanted to try it out. I was not disappointed.
We were there for lunch, we started out with the exotic spring rolls and they were delicious! The presentation was quite something as well. Then one ordered a soup and the other a salad; both were very tasty and filling.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I asked the front desk clerks at the Holiday Inn which restaurants were the best in town. I'm on the road in a new city/state and I didn't want to eat at the same old, same old chain places. They told me that Exotic Thai Bistro was really good (and Jalisco's Grill also, which isn't on Tripadvisor for some reason) so I took both of their suggestions and ate at Jalisco's for dinner and Exotic Thai Bistro for lunch. Amazing, awesome and delicious at both places.

The thai food was surprising to me. I've eaten Thai before, but I didn't expect to find such tasty authentic dishes in the middle of the desert! I ordered a couple of dishes and asked that they were medium-spicy, and I am glad that I didn't ask for hot-spicy! The medium was almost TOO spicy for me, which I loved. The food was delicious. The portions were huge too, so I was able to take the rest to go and snack on later. I will probably stop by this place again on my return trip...unless the kind folks at the Holiday Inn can suggest even better places. They were on-point with this one!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Service was great and the food was tasty. Only complaint was they did not have the classic Thai dessert, sticky rice and mango.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exotic Thai Bistro also viewed

El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 
El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 

Been to Exotic Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exotic Thai Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.