We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites El Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites El Centro to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites El Centro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3003 South Dogwood Avenue, El Centro, CA 92243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in El Centro
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The staff at the Towne Place Suites El Centro was wonderful!! They were very friendly, helpful with directions & sugestions and check-in was quick! (The plate of warm, gooey chocolate chip cookies at the check-in desk didn't hurt, either!) My room was great! Updated decor and amenities & the TV had lots of selection. The Towne Place Suites, El Centro is conveniently located close to the local freeway (but NOT close enough to hear freeway noise, thankfully) and near the mall & restaurants. Also, I left a pair of shoes in my room & didn't realize until I was at my event. The staff found them in my room & held them at the front desk - along with another item that I hadn't realized that I left! Great stay, great staff!! I would highly recommend it and will stay here if I'm in El Centro again!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
4
1
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a decent property with nice rooms and friendly staff. Unfortunately, the internet service they choose is horrid. On multiple stays have had to call repeatedly to the service provider to get on line. Multiple platforms (tablet, laptop, smart phone) and multiple browsers and operating systems. A common complaint amongst guests. Once online service is slowwwwwww.....

Breakfast here is not breakfast. A choice of 4 cereals and juice. Next door is a starbucks so be prepared to go there if you want anything or stay next door at the sister property that doesnt cut corners and frankly is generally less expensive.

If you want to stay at a Marriott property the sister property (Fairfield Inn) is owned and managed by the same group but, has a different internet provider a better breakfast and an indoor pool that is open all year. A much better choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you find yourself stuck in El Centro and you have to spend the night may I recommend the Marriott TownePlace Suites. Nice clean rooms, friendly staff, and a small continental breakfast. I have to admit the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment but the room was nice & clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The good news is that this is a wonderful place to stay in El Centro. The bad news is that, especially during the week, it is often full. So reserve early. The hotel has the new TownePlace Suites decor which is very welcoming. Like many hotel chains these days, the design suggests that guests are a bit more "on their own" than in the "old days"--i.e., a few years ago. However, the staff at this hotel treat the guests like this is a Ritz Carlton. They are available 24/7 to help you with your questions, needs, etc. and are always extremely professional and pleasant. This hotel is also a "home away from home" for business travelers and the military and that makes the personal attention all the more valuable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's fine. It's not great, it's not bad...it's very very unremarkable. It's a parking lot hotel, no grounds, just off of I-8. A mall and a shopping center are very nearby. Restaurants are, too. Easy in, easy out.


What's up with not providing a luggage stand? It means dirty suitcases go on furniture. It's how bed bugs spread. I hate that. No, there were no bedbugs in the room, but it is how they travel.

Has a kitchenette. Coffee present. Coffee cups left for me to wash (I did), the pot was not emptied, that was left for me, too. Whoever stays in 421 next, you're welcome. I put everything in the dishwasher ...at least you'll know cups/glasses and silverware were washed.

TV channels were so so. Wifi was sluggish. Parking easy and free. Better on the back side of the building.

Bed was comfortable, pillow selection was good.

Bathroom was nice, Paul Mitchell hair products (a plus there, thank you), decent hair dryer, towels not fluffy, but did the job.

Breakfast was bad. Cereal, instant oatmeal, some pastries. Nothing hot (unless you include making your own waffle -- which I never do). No fresh fruit.

Pool and fitness center both present and looked clean.

Room Tip: High floor, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I tried to check in. They were overbooked, and I had to go elsewhere. They had me at the Fairfield, and when I checked in there, they had to call Towneplace to verify. Not a good experience.

Room Tip: Have a backup plan, as they may be overbooked. Has happened to several others i know at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This is really nice, clean and comfortable hotel. Fast high speed wireless internet which is one of the most important things for me. Will stay here if I come back to this area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites El Centro

Address: 3003 South Dogwood Avenue, El Centro, CA 92243
Location: United States > California > California Desert > El Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in El Centro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites El Centro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your TownePlace Suites El Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites El Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.