We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you have to spend the night in El Centro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites El Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites El Centro to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites El Centro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3003 South Dogwood Avenue, El Centro, CA 92243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in El Centro
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you have to spend the night in El Centro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you find yourself stuck in El Centro and you have to spend the night may I recommend the Marriott TownePlace Suites. Nice clean rooms, friendly staff, and a small continental breakfast. I have to admit the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment but the room was nice & clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
4
1
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The good news is that this is a wonderful place to stay in El Centro. The bad news is that, especially during the week, it is often full. So reserve early. The hotel has the new TownePlace Suites decor which is very welcoming. Like many hotel chains these days, the design suggests that guests are a bit more "on their own" than in the "old days"--i.e., a few years ago. However, the staff at this hotel treat the guests like this is a Ritz Carlton. They are available 24/7 to help you with your questions, needs, etc. and are always extremely professional and pleasant. This hotel is also a "home away from home" for business travelers and the military and that makes the personal attention all the more valuable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's fine. It's not great, it's not bad...it's very very unremarkable. It's a parking lot hotel, no grounds, just off of I-8. A mall and a shopping center are very nearby. Restaurants are, too. Easy in, easy out.


What's up with not providing a luggage stand? It means dirty suitcases go on furniture. It's how bed bugs spread. I hate that. No, there were no bedbugs in the room, but it is how they travel.

Has a kitchenette. Coffee present. Coffee cups left for me to wash (I did), the pot was not emptied, that was left for me, too. Whoever stays in 421 next, you're welcome. I put everything in the dishwasher ...at least you'll know cups/glasses and silverware were washed.

TV channels were so so. Wifi was sluggish. Parking easy and free. Better on the back side of the building.

Bed was comfortable, pillow selection was good.

Bathroom was nice, Paul Mitchell hair products (a plus there, thank you), decent hair dryer, towels not fluffy, but did the job.

Breakfast was bad. Cereal, instant oatmeal, some pastries. Nothing hot (unless you include making your own waffle -- which I never do). No fresh fruit.

Pool and fitness center both present and looked clean.

Room Tip: High floor, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I tried to check in. They were overbooked, and I had to go elsewhere. They had me at the Fairfield, and when I checked in there, they had to call Towneplace to verify. Not a good experience.

Room Tip: Have a backup plan, as they may be overbooked. Has happened to several others i know at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This is really nice, clean and comfortable hotel. Fast high speed wireless internet which is one of the most important things for me. Will stay here if I come back to this area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern US
Level Contributor
100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I stayed at the TPS in El Centro for a week and a half in August 2010. Overall, this was a good hotel, and the staff was helpful.

For an extended-stay hotel, the rooms are a bit small, but not a big deal. They did manage to fit a small kitchen into the room, and a small desk, but since I was there so long I would have appreciated just a bit more room. The maid was not good about re-stocking things like shampoo, soap, and coffee, but otherwise kept the room clean.

I had a few special requests, and the staff seemed happy to help me out. The hotel serves a continental breakfast, and the hotel itself is located next to a mall with several restaurants almost within walking distance. There is a tiny pool. The wireless internet is free, but a bit slow; my colleagues said that the wired internet was faster. There is a small, but adequate gym, with treadmills and some other exercise equipment. Parking was free.

I was unable to get a cell phone signal in my room on both of my cell phones with AT&T. I had to walk outside to use my cell phone. This got a bit frustrating after a day or two. My friends with AT&T noticed the same thing, but those with other wireless providers said that they did not have any problems. I guess this isn't the hotel's fault, but it may be something to keep in mind if you stay here and have AT&T.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kriz_zone51
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

It was a nice hotel. Almost everybody that worked there was nice and seemed to enjoy working there. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Centro
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites El Centro
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 18 in El Centro
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Crown Motel
Crown Motel
#5 of 18 in El Centro
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vacation Inn
Vacation Inn
#6 of 18 in El Centro
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#10 of 18 in El Centro
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites El Centro

Address: 3003 South Dogwood Avenue, El Centro, CA 92243
Location: United States > California > California Desert > El Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in El Centro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites El Centro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites El Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites El Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.