We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Manager, 360 degree turn around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Town Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Home Town Buffet
390 W Main St, El Cajon, CA 92020
(619) 441-6477
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 294 Restaurants in El Cajon
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
El Cajon, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“New Manager, 360 degree turn around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

After watching Under Cover Boss I sent a Message to Anthony Wedo about how poorly run this HTB was being run by Anna the GM Within 24 hours I had a reposnse from CEO Wedo and also a phone call from Mario Lee the Regional Manager asking me what needs fixed, A Week later a new Manager from Santee Jesse was in place, some new floor Managers in place, Old employees that had been reduced in hours were back to working more and the service and food have all been great since Jesse took over, Congats Mr Wedo for taking care of the issue

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lost Manager Everything downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had eaten here for 20 years, and 19 with Randy as the GM. When Hometown filed Chapter 11
they cut Randy and ever since the service and food have gone down hill. They do not even have an acting GM. I reported them to the health Dept for seeing a cockroach crawling on the clean plates and nothing was done. everything on the serving line was cold, The decide to wait until the are open on Sat Morning to stack dishes, instead of having it done before the open the doors, Tony is th only good Busser they have and the current temp Managers have cut his hours dont waste your time and money If you must go to Santee

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was so crowded , kids running under foot , had to be careful where we stepped . Not a place we go to often .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hometown Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great food and great prices, friendly staff, good location,
and just an all around enjoyable restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

we have been eating here since they opened back in the early 90's Randy is the best ever for a GM He knows everyone that walks in the door that has been here before, makes sure everything is up and rinning food is hot, and Customer Serive is #1. Tony the busser is always grwwting everyone he see;s walk in with a helo many he gives hugs to Seniors absolutely love him Danielle at the Cashier is a wonderful way to start the day. The food is good and plenty of selectins to pick from, I love the Pot Rpast

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Town Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Home Town Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Town Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.