We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3007 Dehesa Road, El Cajon, CA 92019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great relaxing room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a very nice hotel stay. I have to warn you all that the hotel is not at Sycuan but at the golf course. I first went to the casino. The hotel front registration was very fast and easy. We had a upstairs room with a nice view of the course. The room that we have the balcony was very long it had a table and chairs. The room itself was nice and clean. There was a big desk that is great for someone who needs to work. My favorite part of the room was the very spacious bathroom. The whole room itself was a great size. We fit three adults very nicely. The shuttles come by all the time to take you to sycuan so that was easy. We had breakfast at the restraunt at the golf course the next morning and the service and food was also great. I would reccomend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycuan_Resort_Team, Manager at Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our Resort! When we renovated our rooms a few years ago we wanted to ensure absolute comfort of our guests ... hence the spacious layout of the bedroom and bathroom. Also note that every room overlooks the golf course!

Come play at Sycuan Casino - just three miles from the Resort. There is a complimentary shuttle that will take you back and forth, 24 hours a day, at your convenience.

Next time, successbythebeach, we encourage you play a round of golf on our fun par three course - Pine Glen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    43
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
40
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is my 4th time at the resort. You can read my previous reviews so here's what's new since last April 2013.
We use Sycuan as the base for our week long golf trip. We booked 2 golf packages to play Oak and Willow. There was a mixup with the billings - they charged us extra for power carts. Easy to fix but I prefer not having to spend time checking and resolving.
They have added a new course for golf discus players. Didn't try it out.
Each night we tried different restaurants (8 of us). Without question the best meals were at the Sycuan resort. The Pasta Bar special on Wednesday was awesome. Next year we will first check to see what are the specials and then plan our dinners around them. Drink til you're happy and then saunter back to your room. No designated driver duties required!

Room Tip: We'll continue to keep politely demanding they offer free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycuan_Resort_Team, Manager at Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Fourth time at the Resort... Wow, thank you for your loyalty! We encourage you to check our website regularly for golf/hotel/spa packages.

The Sycuan Café and Grille currently has the following specials: Pasta Wednesdays, Brews & BBQ Fridays and Prime Rib Sundays.

Regarding the WiFi - we're working on it! We'll be running a special soon offering free internet to guests who book directly through us. Stay tuned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Sycuan Resort is quite nice. The rooms are very large and comfortable. Food is decent but not more than that (though I heard that the Eggs Benedict were very good). The golf course I played (Oak Glen) was in good condition, very pretty and quite challenging. I have no interest in the casino aspect so can't speak about that. BUT a charge of $9.99/day for WiFi is ridiculous, particularly when most places now offer free WiFi. I think they can get away with it ONLY because it is a couple of miles to get to the nearest free WiFi spot. Still, I'm sure they're making enough on the casino and resort that they could afford to give free WiFi. There are NO porters so you've got to hump your own bags. Choose a ground floor room for that but you'll hear anyone walking above you.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are nice for access but you hear anyone walking in the room above you. Choose ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked a golf package at $199.. two rounds of golf and room. The rooms are great.They are 80's vintage but wonderfully redone. Huge bathrooms (no tubs) and spacious rooms. Wi fi is not included ($10.). Grounds are well maintained.
Golf was not so hot. Very shabby. Lots of play so I guess this is a deal.. Not sure what the round rate was but it must have been cheap since the course was loaded.
Weird deal with the Sycuan Casino.. They own the whole deal..The Casino is 3 miles from the hotel but shuttles are available at your call. We had a great meal at the Casino at their fine dining place.. 2 top sirloins plus the fixings for a very reasonable sum..
No drinking liquor on the floor of the casino. We are used to Nevada and desert casinos, we like to have our drinks when we gamble.. disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to attending the couples golf academy. We arrived at the hotel around 230 pm and were very disappointed when they told us check-in time was not until 4 PM. Once we finally got to our room we were impressed with being ground-level overlooking the putting green. Saturday morning we attended our golf instruction with Rick who I could not say kind enough words for. This guy was absolutely amazing patient courteous etc.... It was a very pleasant experience to learn from him. After three hours of instruction and golfing 18 holes we were looking forward to going back to our room to relax. They had not cleaned the room so we went to dinner then came home around 9 PM to find they completely forgot to clean the room. On our second day of golf we had 15 minute wait times on all par threes. They had stacked the course so busy that on several holes there was three groups waiting to tee off. By the 14th hole we had finally had enough and called it quits

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went as a foursome from Colorado. In mid April. Absolutely fantastic! Incredible deal. The courses were in fantastic shape and the grounds are great. Got room and true unlimited golf w/ cart for unbelievable rate. This was our third year in a row here. Seriously, there isn't a bad thing I can say. And I usually don't have a problem with that when involving any type of business.

Room Tip: The beds sleep so well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I had to be at a meeting in El Cajon. You may be aware that El Cajon lacks nice hotels. But I did not want to fight traffic in and out of San Diego. Well, I found a great place to stay. This is a good and tennis place, but it is 10 to 15 minutes into town. Facilities are kind of 1960's look motel court, but nicely upgraded to current. New fixtures in the bath. Nice and comfortable beds. Good desk and power connections. The restaurant had GREAT food. Good options and good service. Conclusion: if you need to be in el Cajon, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
4.1 mi away
Days Inn El Cajon
Days Inn El Cajon
#2 of 14 in El Cajon
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Continental Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#4 of 14 in El Cajon
3.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
11.1 mi away
Viejas Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 3007 Dehesa Road, El Cajon, CA 92019
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycuan Golf And Tennis Resort
Sycuan Golf & Tennis Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.