We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3007 Dehesa Road, El Cajon, CA 92019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is my 4th time at the resort. You can read my previous reviews so here's what's new since last April 2013.
We use Sycuan as the base for our week long golf trip. We booked 2 golf packages to play Oak and Willow. There was a mixup with the billings - they charged us extra for power carts. Easy to fix but I prefer not having to spend time checking and resolving.
They have added a new course for golf discus players. Didn't try it out.
Each night we tried different restaurants (8 of us). Without question the best meals were at the Sycuan resort. The Pasta Bar special on Wednesday was awesome. Next year we will first check to see what are the specials and then plan our dinners around them. Drink til you're happy and then saunter back to your room. No designated driver duties required!

Room Tip: We'll continue to keep politely demanding they offer free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycuan_Resort_Team, Manager at Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Fourth time at the Resort... Wow, thank you for your loyalty! We encourage you to check our website regularly for golf/hotel/spa packages.

The Sycuan Café and Grille currently has the following specials: Pasta Wednesdays, Brews & BBQ Fridays and Prime Rib Sundays.

Regarding the WiFi - we're working on it! We'll be running a special soon offering free internet to guests who book directly through us. Stay tuned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
33
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Sycuan Resort is quite nice. The rooms are very large and comfortable. Food is decent but not more than that (though I heard that the Eggs Benedict were very good). The golf course I played (Oak Glen) was in good condition, very pretty and quite challenging. I have no interest in the casino aspect so can't speak about that. BUT a charge of $9.99/day for WiFi is ridiculous, particularly when most places now offer free WiFi. I think they can get away with it ONLY because it is a couple of miles to get to the nearest free WiFi spot. Still, I'm sure they're making enough on the casino and resort that they could afford to give free WiFi. There are NO porters so you've got to hump your own bags. Choose a ground floor room for that but you'll hear anyone walking above you.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are nice for access but you hear anyone walking in the room above you. Choose ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked a golf package at $199.. two rounds of golf and room. The rooms are great.They are 80's vintage but wonderfully redone. Huge bathrooms (no tubs) and spacious rooms. Wi fi is not included ($10.). Grounds are well maintained.
Golf was not so hot. Very shabby. Lots of play so I guess this is a deal.. Not sure what the round rate was but it must have been cheap since the course was loaded.
Weird deal with the Sycuan Casino.. They own the whole deal..The Casino is 3 miles from the hotel but shuttles are available at your call. We had a great meal at the Casino at their fine dining place.. 2 top sirloins plus the fixings for a very reasonable sum..
No drinking liquor on the floor of the casino. We are used to Nevada and desert casinos, we like to have our drinks when we gamble.. disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to attending the couples golf academy. We arrived at the hotel around 230 pm and were very disappointed when they told us check-in time was not until 4 PM. Once we finally got to our room we were impressed with being ground-level overlooking the putting green. Saturday morning we attended our golf instruction with Rick who I could not say kind enough words for. This guy was absolutely amazing patient courteous etc.... It was a very pleasant experience to learn from him. After three hours of instruction and golfing 18 holes we were looking forward to going back to our room to relax. They had not cleaned the room so we went to dinner then came home around 9 PM to find they completely forgot to clean the room. On our second day of golf we had 15 minute wait times on all par threes. They had stacked the course so busy that on several holes there was three groups waiting to tee off. By the 14th hole we had finally had enough and called it quits

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went as a foursome from Colorado. In mid April. Absolutely fantastic! Incredible deal. The courses were in fantastic shape and the grounds are great. Got room and true unlimited golf w/ cart for unbelievable rate. This was our third year in a row here. Seriously, there isn't a bad thing I can say. And I usually don't have a problem with that when involving any type of business.

Room Tip: The beds sleep so well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had to be at a meeting in El Cajon. You may be aware that El Cajon lacks nice hotels. But I did not want to fight traffic in and out of San Diego. Well, I found a great place to stay. This is a good and tennis place, but it is 10 to 15 minutes into town. Facilities are kind of 1960's look motel court, but nicely upgraded to current. New fixtures in the bath. Nice and comfortable beds. Good desk and power connections. The restaurant had GREAT food. Good options and good service. Conclusion: if you need to be in el Cajon, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The grounds are lovely -- fabulous old trees with lanterns hanging off of them -- but the buildings are unimpressive: motel style. The rooms are OK however and the bathrooms huge. The balconies and patios look out over the golf course which is nice. There were two pools but each felt like an afterthought, sort of oddly placed and configured. I had to call the front desk for a towel as it was a significant distance from our room, but someone showed up in 15 minutes with two towels and a smile. There was no other option for "service" however at the pool -- just a Coke machine. This is really a hotel for golfers. I can't imagine they attract many guests who aren't there for that purpose given the lack of traditional resort amenities. Not sure I'd return unless there was some reason to be right about there in El Cajon.

Room Tip: No elevators (and no one who offered to help with our luggage), so request a ground floor room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 3007 Dehesa Road, El Cajon, CA 92019
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycuan Golf And Tennis Resort
Sycuan Golf & Tennis Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.