We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel option for El Cajon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3007 Dehesa Road, El Cajon, CA 92019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel option for El Cajon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had to be at a meeting in El Cajon. You may be aware that El Cajon lacks nice hotels. But I did not want to fight traffic in and out of San Diego. Well, I found a great place to stay. This is a good and tennis place, but it is 10 to 15 minutes into town. Facilities are kind of 1960's look motel court, but nicely upgraded to current. New fixtures in the bath. Nice and comfortable beds. Good desk and power connections. The restaurant had GREAT food. Good options and good service. Conclusion: if you need to be in el Cajon, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    38
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
33
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The grounds are lovely -- fabulous old trees with lanterns hanging off of them -- but the buildings are unimpressive: motel style. The rooms are OK however and the bathrooms huge. The balconies and patios look out over the golf course which is nice. There were two pools but each felt like an afterthought, sort of oddly placed and configured. I had to call the front desk for a towel as it was a significant distance from our room, but someone showed up in 15 minutes with two towels and a smile. There was no other option for "service" however at the pool -- just a Coke machine. This is really a hotel for golfers. I can't imagine they attract many guests who aren't there for that purpose given the lack of traditional resort amenities. Not sure I'd return unless there was some reason to be right about there in El Cajon.

Room Tip: No elevators (and no one who offered to help with our luggage), so request a ground floor room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling3500
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great Customer Service from Golf Shop personnel .Wife and I play every week at Par 3- Pine Glen Course.Very challenging. Usually flows well, starting late morning Tee Time.They have 2 other Golf Courses at Sycuan. Very good shape, tricky greens, they have Senior Rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The rooms seem updated and nice but one thing that really that bugged me was the towels were in the adjoining room from the shower alcove (no tub). There was no place to hang a towel in the shower alcove except to drape it over the toilet, if you remembered to bring one in beforehand. If not it was a dripping mess across the floor into the adjoining room where the sinks are to get to reach for one.
Other than that, rooms were nice and updated. Kudo to the Restaurant which was much better than expected and I would go there just to eat for sure. We were in room 141 so it was a ways from the restaurant and we drove over there. There is a shuttle to the casino but I think you need a car to stay here. Peaceful and green, I would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

From the outside, the lodges resemble mid-century motels, but the rooms are comfortable, nicely furnished, and well-equipped, and it was great to have a patio. The very large bathroom had plenty of counter space for cosmetics and gear for two people.
The food's delicious, and the portions generous. The Wednesday night dinner special (with a bottle of house wine at half price!) was a steal, but even the regular prices are very reasonable.
The Oak Glen golf course is an interesting layout, challenging but not punishing, and kept in good shape - but watch out, the greens are sneaky-fast. The golf tournament for which I came was well-organized and the staff was just super. (Pine Glen was closed for maintenance during my stay.)
The service was friendly and accomodating everywhere else, too. Also generally quite efficient, though at times the restaurant and front desk staffs were a bit overwhelmed (the resort was entirely full). Housekeeping was terrific. They knocked on my door very early the first AM, I said please come back after 10:00, and they must have come shortly after then every day, because I never saw or heard them again - just a clean room and fresh towels. That's the way to do it!

As a guest, I had a delightful stay, and I think most of my golf tournament group enjoyed their time on-site as much as I did. But many were not nearly as satisfied with the value they got as I was. I booked my stay on the resort's own web site at well below the group rate - which shouldn't have been able to happen. There were other issues with group room sales and reservations, but I won't go into detail since this is a consumer-oriented site. I'll just invite you to send me a message if you'd be booking a large group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in a Deluxe room, with two really comfortable queen beds. They had room service, which was great, as well as free use of a computer in the lobby for me to print out my airline boarding pass. The shower (no tub) was excellent. The only down side for me was no free in-room wifi (they charge $9.99 per day for that service.). The staff were all very friendly, and the room was really clean, with a nice flat screen TV and a large desk. I had a nice view of one of the golfing greens outside my patio.

Room Tip: If you want a second floor room with a balcony you need to ask for it (special requests not guarante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 3007 Dehesa Road, El Cajon, CA 92019
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycuan Golf & Tennis Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Golf And Tennis Resort
Sycuan Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.