We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rip-off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1274 Oakdale Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92021   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“rip-off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

On the evening of Feb 24th 2011, myself and travelling companion checked into America's Best Value Inn at 1274 Oakdale Ave, El Cajon, Ca. We did a quick bedbug search of the mattresses and box springs on both beds and saw nothing. We brought our luggage in, and then went out for supper and shopping. On returning to our room about 4 hours later, as I was about to lay on the bed, I saw a bedbug on the headboard, which was attached to the wall, not the bed. We lifted the headboard off the wall, and saw four bedbugs there. We did not check the other headboard.

On quick discussion, we decided to vacate the Hotel immediately. I went back to the same manager and reported the bedbugs, who responded "You sleep on the bed, not the headboard". He offered another room, which was not an acceptable option. I asked for a refund. He initially refused, but finally returned less than half of the room cost.

Room Tip: Try someplace else!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8BYU, Sales Representative at Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Dear Sarge1958,

I apologize for the poor service you received from our hotel staff. The response you were given is unacceptable. We appreciate you for having brought this issues to our attention. As per the bed bug problem, I can assure you the issue has been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    7
See reviews for
6
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

The only good thing was that the room was clean. We stayed here on July 19, 2006. The first room we were given had leak in the bathroom coming through the light fixture from the upstairs room. The manager said he would clean it up and replace the light bulb. I demanded another room due to safety reasons. The next morning when we tried to check out at 7:50 a.m. the office was not open and I had to hunt down the manager to return my key and hair dryer. As we were in a hurry to go, this was not expected or appreciated. Most lobbies are open in the morning for check-out by 7:00, if not earlier. The location is right next to a busy freeway, so it is very noisy. My recommendation is to stay somewhere else!

  • Liked — lower price
  • Disliked — poor service, noisy location
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
passagetravel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
There has been new management since may of 2010. We do apologize for any inconvience you had with the property with your previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego

Address: 1274 Oakdale Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of El Cajon, California located just east of sunny San Diego. Our beautiful, 2-story, 30 guestroom Inn is located within 5 miles of 6 major golf courses, 15 miles from Mission Bay and just 11 miles from the San Diego Zoo. We have nicely furnished 1 king and 2 queen bed guestrooms all with extended cable including HBO, some of which are equipped with mini-fridges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.