We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wieghorst Western Heritage Center

Wieghorst Western Heritage Center
131 Rea Ave, El Cajon, CA 92020
(619) 590-3431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Attractions in El Cajon
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Well Done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a very well done tribute to local artist Olaf Wieghorst and his beautiful, western art. Many his works are attractively displayed in a historical setting. Well worth several visits.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fun stop if you're in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

You have never heard of this artist but you have definitely seen his artwork. Olaf Wieghorst captured the spirit of the west in paintings that breathe with movement and light. Many of them have graced the covers of magazines over and over again.

The museum comprises both an art gallery and the artist's house with a number of period artifacts. (I believe the home was moved here.) Third- and fourth-graders come here from surrounding schools when studying California history, the ranchos and the missions. It offers a tranquil and inspiring setting.

I wouldn't trek across the country to visit, but if you are within 50 miles of El Cajon it's definitely worth an hour of your time to stop by.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not much for the Hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The city makes it sound like a Big deal, I had never heard of the artist Seems they wasted a lot of money to put this in downtown instead of bring a good Business in in it's place I was bored

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Western Art, Anyone?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I'm always looking for a new museum and stumbled upon this one a few years ago but didn't have time to stop. A year ago my wife and I found it easily enough on the way to visit a friend.

Olaf Wieghorst worked in the west before joining the NY Mounted Police. He began artistic painting while working for the police and earned a few commissions. Most of his works included horses, Native Americans, and other western themes. Upon retirement, he moved to El Cajon and his fame grew. He created works for Hollywood stars among others, including John Wayne and even did a little acting in a John Wayne movie.

The gallery shows some of his works. Outside, the house in which he created many of his works has been moved to the site. The interior of the house isn't regularly open, but the exterior is beautifully landscaped with a cactus garden and a mural has been painted on an adjacent wall.

We enjoyed the visit and learned a lot about this lesser known artist.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wieghorst Western Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Wieghorst Western Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wieghorst Western Heritage Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.