We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“daughter works there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor Guitars

Taylor Guitars
1980 Gillespie Way, El Cajon, CA 92020
(619) 258-1207
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Shopping in El Cajon
Attraction details
El Cajon, California, United States
1 review
“daughter works there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

need to go on a tour to see the workings, but becky likes working there

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great free tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I took my 3 chilren (8;6;4) on this awesome manufacturing guitars tour. The guide was kind, helpful, and knowlegable. The company provided safety glasses and headphones/receivers for the guide's microphone (hense everyone could hear during the entire tour!) My 4 yr old was board after 15 min, but the other 2 and I loved it. They encourage questions. After the tour, we were encouraged to play the beautiful/expensive guitars. The tour started promptly at 1 pm and took 3/4 hrs. It is only 30/45 min from San Diego by car (gps took me right there). It is well worth the trip!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Incredibly informative and a must-see for any guitar lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I am surprised that this tour is free (please don't change that though)!

The tour I was on went slightly over time and at no stage was anybody made to feel like the tour was a burden on any of the staff at Taylor Guitars. Considering the tour group is watching the staff perform their everyday duties as they construct guitars I was pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere. Almost as surprised as I was when I discovered they allow photography and the use of video.

There is so much sharing of information (with details on wood, technology, history, Taylor Guitar secrets and more) that I didn't find myself bored at any stage on the tour. In fact I found myself wanting to build a guitar I was so inspired.

The store at the end of the tour has plenty of items ranging from plectrums to discounted Taylor Guitars. It's a great way to spend an hour or so.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa cruz county Ca.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“if you play guitar, you have to see this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

what a great way to display your guitars and show the world how you make an excellent instrument from raw wood to finished product, under one roof, makes you want to own a Taylor

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun when its rainy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We visited the Taylor guitar factory on a wim because the day was rainy and another museum was closed. It doesn't deserve being called a factory because it is so clean. The guitarists in our group were practically drooling over seeing the beautiful guitars and the others in our group were fascinated over the details of the assembly. Our guide was pleasant and knowledgeable. While I would not advise you to take children this is a place teens would probably find fascinating. The gift shop at the end deserves time also.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taylor Guitars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor Guitars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.