We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Clean, Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cave Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunsmuir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cave Springs Resort
Save
You added Cave Springs Resort to your Saves list
4727 Dunsmuir Avenue, Dunsmuir, CA 96025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Redwood City CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming, Clean, Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Though the motel room decor is stuck in the 70's everything is immaculate and the mattresses and pillows are quite new and are of good quality and excellent comfort. The property contains small cabins and manufactured homes for longer stays (we spent one night only) and they are along the creek. There is a city park along Dunsmuir with a wonderful botanical garden adjacent to the property. Didn't stay long enough to enjoy the poo, hot tub or inviting lawn with colorful chairs but I'd like to come again to stay longer. Our host was friendly and always available.

Room Tip: Motel rooms are all away from the street. A couple of the resort cabins are nearer the road, freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
29
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at Cave Springs for the 4th. Live music and fireworks were fun. Nice family atmosphere. The cabins are very "rustic", but that is part of the charm of this place. Its like stepping back in time. Conveniently located to hike Mt Shasta, etc. Check it out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We started our search for a vacation property near Lake Shasta last year. This was going to be our first trip in the area and for the first time time we were bringing our dog (we also added another before our trip).
We stayed at the cabin (Lookout) for one week. Louie was a great host and if there were any problems,he took care of them right away. The city park was within walking distance and worked out great for the dogs. The unit did come with it's own hot tub,which is great (the one by the swimming pool looked a little grimy). We did try to use the swimming pool but it was as cold as ice cubes. When we inquired about that,we were told it was "heated by solar panels",and in the week were there we only saw about 3 people use the pool (in and out). The outside sign say's "free HBO",but I guess it was not piped into our room. There was a bar-b-q supplied that was nice (that we had to clean,before we used it). The upstairs loft worked out o.k. for my 15 year old,but he had to stoop down,as the room is probably about 4ft. high. It really would have been nice to have been referred to Mt.Shasta when we got there,when we asked for the best place to shop for groceries. The store in town is WAY OVER PRICED! and seems to take advantage of the tourists. When we went to Shasta (about 10-15 mn. away), We found "Ray's",a supermarket with everything you need and reasonable prices. I don't mind patronizing the "local's",but when you have a family,do you really want to spend $80 in groceries,when you can get more than twice as much in Shasta?
When we looked for our 2013 vacation place,there were very few "pet friendly" options. This was one that we found that seemed both affordable and accommodating. Make sure you bring your own shampoo. There is no room service as well. WiFi worked great most of the time,but did have it's moments when the connection dropped.

Room Tip: Pictures posted were of our room. They were not to off from the ones posted on the web site (except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Shasta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was very thankful to find this gem! This is a older resort and I had a room in the motel. Before I stay in a place I always check out the room. I have many allergies and travel with an air purifier. The room in the motel where I stayed was great. There were no musty smells or perfume I did not need the air purifier. The room smelled fresh and clean from fresh air not artificial cover ups. The carpet was very clean. The heat and the air conditioning worked great new thermostats on the wall. There was a heat lamp in the bathroom which was nice. I noticed the screen was torn and mentioned it to Louie (most awesome host!) and he replaced it right away. Also I noticed there were double windows an added feature. The room was very clean and comfortable. Good TV CD/VCR player in the room. Fridge and micro also.
There are wonderful trails just beyond the property is the city park with the Dunsmuir Botanical Garden and the Sacramento River where I saw fisherman with all their gear having fun. The landscaping was just beautiful and beyond there were older small cabins, that families rented and were enjoying themselves cooking outside and enjoying the nature in a park-like setting with very tall trees. There was some noise from Rt 5 and the train does come through several times day and night but I was not bothered. I was very comfortable and have I couldn't have been happier. Thanks Louie!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We definitely have mixed feelings about this place. The grounds are rustic and beautiful and you can walk to the Sacramento River. Louie Dewey was very personable when making the reservations via telephone, but he quoted $59.00/night for a cabin on the telephone and we were charged $79.00/night for Sat/Sun and $59.00 for Monday.

The cabin was clean and you could hear the gurgle of Sacramento River when the noise from I-5 or the very nearby train (tracks across the river) subsided, but those were extremely rare moments. The bed was creaky and the mattress was very thin and uncomfortable. All the electrical outlets, save the one in the kitchen ceiling were dead and the wiring was suspect. The bathroom was a nightmare, stripped faucets, broken mirror glass with exposed sharp edges, broken fiberglass in the shower stall. A little TLC and a lot of elbow grease by the owners in each cabin would make a world of difference.

We never received the extra pillows we asked for and when we inquired about the hot tub, we were told “it’ll be fixed tomorrow." It never worked during our stay.

The area is a vacation treat (especially for hikers) and there are many lodging choices nearby, but if you decide to stay at this resort, book the Lookout Cabin – it’s a new cabin, built three years ago ($159 – 179 per night) and looked perfect for a couple or small family. After our second sleepless night, we asked if we could move to the Lookout Cabin for Monday night, but they wanted to charge us the full rate even though it went unbooked.

Room Tip: We never saw the motel rooms (which we heard were a bit better), but the Lookout Cabin would be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

At first the proximity to the highway and the railroad left me grumpy, but after a few hours I was able to look past them. We stayed in one of the tiny cabins and could not have been happier. It was small, but very enjoyable. Our two kids (ages 2 & 4) slept in sleeping bags on the floor and thought it was fabulous. Every day they woke up and took off to run around on their own, ride their bikes, play on the playground and we did not worry about them, and for such a young age they thought the freedom was great. Lots of other kids running around for them to play with. Had our dog with us and he was well received by owners and guests alike. Great lawn with big shade trees and chairs across from our cabin we played wiffle ball on and just enjoyed. Wifi throughout. I was able to work on the porch, while the kids ran around and the hubby fished below/behind the cabin. Each night we barbecued outside on the provided grill and picnicked at our picnic table. Lots of family reunions around us, people that have been coming back to this motel for decades. It made it very homely and friendly. Nothing about this place was high end, but it was extremely relaxing, pretty, and priced so afford-ably that we could have stayed on for another week. The town is nothing big, but driving an exit north we did lots of hiking, fly fishing and swimming in the National Forest. Highly recommend and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in one of the funky cabins with a small kitchen with a frig outside on the bacj porch.. The front porch furthers the 50's look with two painted steel chairs just like GrandPop had at the beach bungalow. All was clean and comfortable. Night chill was killed off by an efficient portable electric heater. Highway and train noise required earplugs to sleep.

Room Tip: A cabin further in from the road will have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cave Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Springs Resort

Address: 4727 Dunsmuir Avenue, Dunsmuir, CA 96025
Location: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Cave Springs Hotel Dunsmuir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.