We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch, friendly service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dogwood Diner

Dogwood Diner
5841 Sacramento Ave., Dunsmuir, CA 96025
530-678-3502
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Dunsmuir
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Formerly The Brown Trout Cafe. New owners.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great lunch, friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Try lunch here, you will not be disappointed! The burger and fries were great and ample. Our waitperson was very friendly and even though the place was busy, the service was prompt. A great spot for great food when in town.......try it!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had a wonderful Panini and salad that we split. There was so much food and it was really delicious! We had our golden lab, Powell, with us and they also served him a fresh bowl of Dunsmuir water, in the outside seating area!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent for breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Since this cafe has a view of the charming historic Dunsmuir railroad yard (and opened promptly at 8:00), we stopped in for breakfast. We're glad we did. Great coffee and an interesting selection on the menu. Both the peanut roll and the pineapple French toast were delicious!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The food was great but the server spent too much time with his nose in the air”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stopped here after our first choice was closed. First of all, the food was tasty. I had the Mediterranean Chicken Panini and my wife had a cranberry salad. She had iced tea and I asked for a beer. Here is where things went downhill. Their beer selection is limited with no draft beer. The one I requested was out and the waiter offered up anonther that he said was similar. Not really so I settled on another. My wife had iced tea and she aasked for some Sweet and Low. The waiter informed her that they didn't believe in it so they wouldn't provide it to their customers. She went out to our car and brought some back in for her tea. The place is small but he managed to make himself scarce for a refill until our food came up. When we got ready to go she asked for a to-go cup and then a cup of ice since it didn't include any. He definitely had some attitude and while he was doing this I went to the counter to pay the bill. He gave me attitude when he informed me he had to take the tea to our table because my wife asked for it. All he had to do was stop and give me the cup while he took care of my payment. We'll never be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weed, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spring break w/daughters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My daughters came up last spring and this restaurant had live music so we decided to try it. The food was excellent and we had a great time. Music was 60's and 70's and we danced our hearts out. A little too much to drink but a great time out with my two daughters on break.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogwood Diner also viewed

 

Been to Dogwood Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dogwood Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.