We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good organic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dogwood Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dogwood Diner
5841 Sacramento Ave., Dunsmuir, CA 96025
530-678-3502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 restaurants in Dunsmuir
Cuisines: Contemporary
Description: Formerly The Brown Trout Cafe. New owners.
Restaurant details
Description: Formerly The Brown Trout Cafe. New owners.
Coto de Caza, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good organic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had the most gourmet hamburger ever there. Lots of organic food and friendly service. Nice little store adjoining (The Brown Trout) to shop while you wait for your food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    29
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing...subtitle, my how America has changed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

When my wife went to high school in the 60's, she befriended a female exchange student from France, with whom she has remained friends ever since. Bertille, the French woman, loved her time in the States, with one exception -- the barren wasteland that was American cuisine. But that was almost 50 years ago; now she would be amazed...because even in a tiny backwoods place like Dunsmuir, there is outstanding food.

Case in point, the Dogwood Diner. Chef Kate is a true professional; her menu, while small is good across the board. The beautiful dinner salad was clearly from a local garden -- highlighted by the thinly sliced watermelon radish. The main dishes we had were of a quality that even the French would like. Is the service a bit slow? Hey, go back to the city or wait until you run into the next Mickey D's on the 5. The staff is sweet and down home and so very friendly. Didn't try the desserts, but everything else, particularly the hand cut fries and home-made ketchup were,well, amazing. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Slow, sloppy sevice. Nice food but simple.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have been visitors to Dunsmuir for over 30 years and have seen many restaurants come and go. The write ups were great on this place but service lousy. We arrived for lunch but were told we had to order from breakfast menu. Lots of dirty tables went intended the whole time we were there. Spilled food under our table from previous baby. Dirty, used, crumpled menus were eventually offered. Lots of orders seem to be sent back and one guy complained so much they comped his meal. When our food finally arrived it was yummy. An egg sandwich with local homemade sausage on a huge, light fluffly "angel" biscuit. It was delicious yet a little hard to eat as a sandwich since it crumbled. It arrived with no "dressing" but hot sauce was offered. The garnish was a few sprigs of arugula. A couple of berries would have made it more attractive. Very simple, very cheap, very good. I wish they would have offered us their more inventive lunch menu. Breakfast is pretty much eggs & pancakes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My sis and I stumbled upon the Dogwood and had both dinner and breakfast here. The server the first evening was super friendly and helpful; he even recommended a place for us to stay. The service the next morning was a bit slow and less attentive but they were also busier and (I think) understaffed. The food both times was terrific. I had the vegetarian special chicken fried eggplant for dinner which was unique and full of flavor. The buckwheat pancakes in the morning were hearty and delicious. Great vegetarian options, cute and quirky decor, good service. A visit to the Dogwood Diner is a must if you're in the Dunsmuir area!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No surprise at Dogwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

2nd time eating at Dogwood on our way up and down Interstate 5 and perfect again. Great spot to stop if you are looking for more than traditional highway fare. I had the panini sandwich with great handcut French fries and my wife enjoyed her Macro Bowl with grilled tofu. Nice service and nice setting also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogwood Diner also viewed

 

Been to Dogwood Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dogwood Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.