We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fortunate find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunlap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cyndi's Snowline Lodge
Save Saved
You added Cyndi's Snowline Lodge to your Saves list
44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fortunate find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I took a 4-day camping trip in the park (Azalea campground) during the first week of March. It had just snowed up there and after three days of no showering, freezing weather, no running hot water at the campgrounds, and a perma-stench of campfire I was so ready to high tail it home! In recognition of my frustrations, my husband asked a nearby lodge about getting a room for us to shower. They hadn't any available without a seemingly unreasonable cost but they were able to recommend a lodge about 10miles up the road: Cyndi's Snowline Lodge! The front desk called over there and Cyndi relayed that they could indeed better accommodate us.

Upon our drive up to the lodge, it wasn't much to look at but when we walked in, it really did win me over. Granted, at this point I was thankful regardless of where I might need to be so to indulge in a shower, wash my hands with hot water, or remove myself from the brisk temperatures outside BUT TRULY this place was quaint and cozy inside!! A bit rustic and aged, the lodge still had a really cozy feel. It is very welcoming through means of service AND ambiance.

I am so thankful for these wonderful people!! They bent over backwards to make us comfortable and ensure that we had everything we needed. They worked very quickly to accommodate us and they radiated "good people!" The little details to making one feel the "home way from home" feeling are what make this place a great find. It's a great stay for the relaxed, economical traveler who wishes to rest their head in a rustic, home-like cabin room. The lodge even offers outdoor patio seating on the balcony with a great view of the canyons.

Cyndi and Jeff, you are wonderful people! Thank you a million!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

What a treat this place is. Cindy, Jeff, and Robert run a sweet little operation just outside of the North entrance to SEKI (near Grant Grove). A quiet motel full of unique charm and comfort, it's not a 4-star retreat that pampers to all your needs, it's something much better: a clean, warm, inviting spot with people who care about what they're doing.

The room is comfortable and cozy (fun towels, quirky quilts, all with a homespun feel), it's warm and friendly, and super clean.

And the included waffles/pancakes in the morning are a treat. (Bobby cooks them up great!)

We came in mid-January 2014, in the off-season, so we had the place mostly to ourselves. If you find yourself in SEKI and need a place to stay, definitely make your way to Cindy's Snowline Motel!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, at the front, but it looked like they were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed staying at Snowline Lodge on way to King's Canyon/Sequoia National Park. Lots of atmosphere, nice room, community frig on upstairs deck,bonfire at night, and owner even makes you waffles in AM

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Snowline is like the Little House on the Prairie with wrap around verandas top and bottom sitting in peace and tranquility. We loved our bedroom with the beautiful quilt, ceiling fan and spanking new and clean bathroom - complete with toiletries. As we were very tired when we arrived Jeff persuaded Robert to cook us an evening meal - his signature dish of chicken pasta florentine which was so tasty with fresh vegetables and lovely salad. They are big-hearted and interesting people, willing to chat and swap stories. Robert's waffles for breakfast were far removed from those in motel chains everywhere else and the coffee bottomless. My partner played the piano watched over by a less than impressed mannequin!! If you like to stay somewhere that isn't plastic, formulaic and sanitised this is the place for you - and no we are not young, just open-minded!! The Snowline is above all a relaxed business with a lot of trust, if there is no-one around you are encouraged to summon help via the house-phone. We hope the owners get all the encouragement they deserve to continue with this on-going project as it is definitely a labour of love.

Room Tip: Not many to choose from and from the two we saw they all looked beautiful and homely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed 1 night here on our way to Kings Canyon/Sequoia. Had room 5, very quiet at the back upstairs. Small room and bath (but large shower), ceiling fan and windows that open. Old place but well maintained and clean. Got a good night's sleep and enjoyed their pancakes for breakfast (I was able to bring in my orange juice and banana). Lodge has common room with TV and library of books and games.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family of four stayed one night at Cyndi's Snowline Lodge. We picked this lodge as the one hotel in the Kings Canyon National Park at Grant Grove Village was booked, and didn't want to stay too far from the park. As other posters have noted, this is a very basic place but very clean. The price was also reasonable--$104 for a room with a double and a set of bunk beds (vs. $189 for a room with two queens at the hotel at the park, if we had been able to get it). As long as you know this isn't the Ritz, you'll be fine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxhell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe people don't like this place! If you're young, open minded and looking for a true heart and genuine business bed and breakfasts, you'll love this place. When we arrived there was almost nobody, but i can imagine that with a bit more people this place is more lively and you can even make a camp fire. A room with a heart, a normal 2-persons bed, a clean bath room with hot water, a nice lamp next to the bed and an hige fan in the corner of the room. No need for tv or entertainment in the rooms, you can find all that in the communal living room down stairs. Be sure to ask before 8pm where you can grab a bite and if you don't have anything to drink with ya, jeff or the other guy gladly help you out. The waffles in the morning are a delight(unlike other plastic waffles we've been eating elsewhere) and the company is just true and genuine good hearted people :-) For us, europeans, this was a place where we felt a bit home. The decorations seem to be picked out by the lady of the house who roams flea markets and thrift stores to add a unique touch to it, we loved it ! a B&B with a story!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cyndi's Snowline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

Address: 44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Dunlap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dunlap
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Cyndi`s Snowline Hotel Dunlap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyndi's Snowline Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.