We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Inn in the Sierra Nevadas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunlap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cyndi's Snowline Lodge
Save
You added Cyndi's Snowline Lodge to your Saves list
44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky Inn in the Sierra Nevadas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed staying at Snowline Lodge on way to King's Canyon/Sequoia National Park. Lots of atmosphere, nice room, community frig on upstairs deck,bonfire at night, and owner even makes you waffles in AM

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ojai
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed 1 night here on our way to Kings Canyon/Sequoia. Had room 5, very quiet at the back upstairs. Small room and bath (but large shower), ceiling fan and windows that open. Old place but well maintained and clean. Got a good night's sleep and enjoyed their pancakes for breakfast (I was able to bring in my orange juice and banana). Lodge has common room with TV and library of books and games.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family of four stayed one night at Cyndi's Snowline Lodge. We picked this lodge as the one hotel in the Kings Canyon National Park at Grant Grove Village was booked, and didn't want to stay too far from the park. As other posters have noted, this is a very basic place but very clean. The price was also reasonable--$104 for a room with a double and a set of bunk beds (vs. $189 for a room with two queens at the hotel at the park, if we had been able to get it). As long as you know this isn't the Ritz, you'll be fine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benezet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe people don't like this place! If you're young, open minded and looking for a true heart and genuine business bed and breakfasts, you'll love this place. When we arrived there was almost nobody, but i can imagine that with a bit more people this place is more lively and you can even make a camp fire. A room with a heart, a normal 2-persons bed, a clean bath room with hot water, a nice lamp next to the bed and an hige fan in the corner of the room. No need for tv or entertainment in the rooms, you can find all that in the communal living room down stairs. Be sure to ask before 8pm where you can grab a bite and if you don't have anything to drink with ya, jeff or the other guy gladly help you out. The waffles in the morning are a delight(unlike other plastic waffles we've been eating elsewhere) and the company is just true and genuine good hearted people :-) For us, europeans, this was a place where we felt a bit home. The decorations seem to be picked out by the lady of the house who roams flea markets and thrift stores to add a unique touch to it, we loved it ! a B&B with a story!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

...and convenient. Cyndi and her staff of ex-boyfriends give some real local color. If you're looking for a typical hotel/motel experience, this ain't it. If you are looking for a clean, quiet room for a night at a reasonable price, this is indeed the place. It certainly has its quirks (we were first greeted by a dog and sent off by a sheep named Danielle), but the positive intentions of the staff more than balanced out everything. They bend over backward for everyone, made us breakfast every morning, constantly asked if we needed anything, and even tried to give us a discount for making us wait while they cleaned up a room for us that usually isn't rented out (because they were otherwise full).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road, and/or ask if the cabin in back is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsinban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's tough for me to rip the place apart because there is a genuine feeling that the hotel and its staff are trying hard...but in the end fall slightly short. There are not a ton of options this close to Kings Canyon, and we were travelling with a small dog which limited our options even further. This hotel is extremely pet friendly with no extra fee for bringing our pup. The price for the room was fair and the location was perfect for entering the park the next morning. The room (#4) was simple and clean with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was new and the shower was was clean with plenty of hot water and full water pressure which was nice. Waffles are served for breakfast. No other options were presented so we just ate the waffles. They were pretty good.

There were a couple of downsides. A big one for us was that there was only one usable outlet for both the room and bathroom and it is hidden behind the bed which means no plugging in your phone charger, or fan (my husband always travels with one) and no using a hair dryer! There is no TV, phone or clock in the room which might not have been a big deal except there is also no wifi to play with your ipad, watch streaming videos or wear down your phone battery because you cannot recharge it. These guys are really committing to the "quaint" motif. Granted there is a communal room for TV watching, game playing and books but after a long day on the road we really just wanted to relax in our room and not be communal. The whole experience was a bit like staying at your Aunt's house; the TV is downstairs as are all the amenities and if you want them bad enough you'll go be social...turns out we didn't want them that bad.

A small adjustment I might suggest for the owners would be that I like to have toiletries in the room. Even in the most mom and pop motels, there is usually a little basket of toiletries. There are none here. It's just a nice inexpensive touch. Of course, first I would add outlets :)

Finally, upon driving up to the motel it looks a little bit scary...it's the sort of eclectic that leans less toward "Portlandia" and more towards "X-Files". But once you get past the mannequins and creaky floors the place is harmless and the sleep restful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway with the balcony were great and offered a view of the impressive lightening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank argus18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I want to thank Jeff and Cindi for our great stay at the Snowline Lodge. We stumbled across it by chance on our roadtrip an got a great deal from Jeff for our stay. After setting up in a very cute and clean room, we went downstairs where we could eat our own food for dinner (never had that happen somewhere before!) and chatted with Jeff about his experiences and the development of the Snowline Lodge; very very interesting!
The common room is great. It has comfortable couches, a lot of space and plenty of books/puzzles/games to choose from if you're bored in the evening. It has a very homily feel to it!

The next morning we had an amazing (valentine's day) waffle breakfast with plenty of food, coffee and juice. After breakfast, we got a small tour of the 'work in development' areas (which you don't see if you're not shown) and got to add something to the ever expanding wall of messages.

It was an excellent stay, at the Snowline Lodge you find the perfect mix of friendliness, service and hospitality by owners and staff who genuinely love their work and guests!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlap
5.6 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
11.2 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
19.8 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
22.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Branded Calf B & B
The Branded Calf B & B
#1 of 1 in Squaw Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyndi's Snowline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

Address: 44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711
Location: United States > California > Dunlap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dunlap
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Cyndi`s Snowline Hotel Dunlap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing