We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Inn in the Sierra Nevadas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunlap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cyndi's Snowline Lodge
44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quirky Inn in the Sierra Nevadas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed staying at Snowline Lodge on way to King's Canyon/Sequoia National Park. Lots of atmosphere, nice room, community frig on upstairs deck,bonfire at night, and owner even makes you waffles in AM

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Snowline is like the Little House on the Prairie with wrap around verandas top and bottom sitting in peace and tranquility. We loved our bedroom with the beautiful quilt, ceiling fan and spanking new and clean bathroom - complete with toiletries. As we were very tired when we arrived Jeff persuaded Robert to cook us an evening meal - his signature dish of chicken pasta florentine which was so tasty with fresh vegetables and lovely salad. They are big-hearted and interesting people, willing to chat and swap stories. Robert's waffles for breakfast were far removed from those in motel chains everywhere else and the coffee bottomless. My partner played the piano watched over by a less than impressed mannequin!! If you like to stay somewhere that isn't plastic, formulaic and sanitised this is the place for you - and no we are not young, just open-minded!! The Snowline is above all a relaxed business with a lot of trust, if there is no-one around you are encouraged to summon help via the house-phone. We hope the owners get all the encouragement they deserve to continue with this on-going project as it is definitely a labour of love.

Room Tip: Not many to choose from and from the two we saw they all looked beautiful and homely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed 1 night here on our way to Kings Canyon/Sequoia. Had room 5, very quiet at the back upstairs. Small room and bath (but large shower), ceiling fan and windows that open. Old place but well maintained and clean. Got a good night's sleep and enjoyed their pancakes for breakfast (I was able to bring in my orange juice and banana). Lodge has common room with TV and library of books and games.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family of four stayed one night at Cyndi's Snowline Lodge. We picked this lodge as the one hotel in the Kings Canyon National Park at Grant Grove Village was booked, and didn't want to stay too far from the park. As other posters have noted, this is a very basic place but very clean. The price was also reasonable--$104 for a room with a double and a set of bunk beds (vs. $189 for a room with two queens at the hotel at the park, if we had been able to get it). As long as you know this isn't the Ritz, you'll be fine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxhell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe people don't like this place! If you're young, open minded and looking for a true heart and genuine business bed and breakfasts, you'll love this place. When we arrived there was almost nobody, but i can imagine that with a bit more people this place is more lively and you can even make a camp fire. A room with a heart, a normal 2-persons bed, a clean bath room with hot water, a nice lamp next to the bed and an hige fan in the corner of the room. No need for tv or entertainment in the rooms, you can find all that in the communal living room down stairs. Be sure to ask before 8pm where you can grab a bite and if you don't have anything to drink with ya, jeff or the other guy gladly help you out. The waffles in the morning are a delight(unlike other plastic waffles we've been eating elsewhere) and the company is just true and genuine good hearted people :-) For us, europeans, this was a place where we felt a bit home. The decorations seem to be picked out by the lady of the house who roams flea markets and thrift stores to add a unique touch to it, we loved it ! a B&B with a story!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

...and convenient. Cyndi and her staff of ex-boyfriends give some real local color. If you're looking for a typical hotel/motel experience, this ain't it. If you are looking for a clean, quiet room for a night at a reasonable price, this is indeed the place. It certainly has its quirks (we were first greeted by a dog and sent off by a sheep named Danielle), but the positive intentions of the staff more than balanced out everything. They bend over backward for everyone, made us breakfast every morning, constantly asked if we needed anything, and even tried to give us a discount for making us wait while they cleaned up a room for us that usually isn't rented out (because they were otherwise full).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road, and/or ask if the cabin in back is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's tough for me to rip the place apart because there is a genuine feeling that the hotel and its staff are trying hard...but in the end fall slightly short. There are not a ton of options this close to Kings Canyon, and we were travelling with a small dog which limited our options even further. This hotel is extremely pet friendly with no extra fee for bringing our pup. The price for the room was fair and the location was perfect for entering the park the next morning. The room (#4) was simple and clean with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was new and the shower was was clean with plenty of hot water and full water pressure which was nice. Waffles are served for breakfast. No other options were presented so we just ate the waffles. They were pretty good.

There were a couple of downsides. A big one for us was that there was only one usable outlet for both the room and bathroom and it is hidden behind the bed which means no plugging in your phone charger, or fan (my husband always travels with one) and no using a hair dryer! There is no TV, phone or clock in the room which might not have been a big deal except there is also no wifi to play with your ipad, watch streaming videos or wear down your phone battery because you cannot recharge it. These guys are really committing to the "quaint" motif. Granted there is a communal room for TV watching, game playing and books but after a long day on the road we really just wanted to relax in our room and not be communal. The whole experience was a bit like staying at your Aunt's house; the TV is downstairs as are all the amenities and if you want them bad enough you'll go be social...turns out we didn't want them that bad.

A small adjustment I might suggest for the owners would be that I like to have toiletries in the room. Even in the most mom and pop motels, there is usually a little basket of toiletries. There are none here. It's just a nice inexpensive touch. Of course, first I would add outlets :)

Finally, upon driving up to the motel it looks a little bit scary...it's the sort of eclectic that leans less toward "Portlandia" and more towards "X-Files". But once you get past the mannequins and creaky floors the place is harmless and the sleep restful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway with the balcony were great and offered a view of the impressive lightening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cyndi's Snowline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

Address: 44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Dunlap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Dunlap
Also Known As:
Cyndi`s Snowline Hotel Dunlap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyndi's Snowline Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cyndi's Snowline Lodge to your Saves list