We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How friendliness makes a home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunlap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cyndi's Snowline Lodge
Save
You added Cyndi's Snowline Lodge to your Saves list
44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“How friendliness makes a home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I want to thank Jeff and Cindi for our great stay at the Snowline Lodge. We stumbled across it by chance on our roadtrip an got a great deal from Jeff for our stay. After setting up in a very cute and clean room, we went downstairs where we could eat our own food for dinner (never had that happen somewhere before!) and chatted with Jeff about his experiences and the development of the Snowline Lodge; very very interesting!
The common room is great. It has comfortable couches, a lot of space and plenty of books/puzzles/games to choose from if you're bored in the evening. It has a very homily feel to it!

The next morning we had an amazing (valentine's day) waffle breakfast with plenty of food, coffee and juice. After breakfast, we got a small tour of the 'work in development' areas (which you don't see if you're not shown) and got to add something to the ever expanding wall of messages.

It was an excellent stay, at the Snowline Lodge you find the perfect mix of friendliness, service and hospitality by owners and staff who genuinely love their work and guests!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

On our roadtrip to the Yosemite and Sequoia National Parks we bumped into this motel. Jeff, the owner, gave us (4 budget travellers) a great deal for our stay! The room was very clean and cute with awesome looking blankets. I loved the fact that there was a huge living/common room downstairs where we could sit and eat our own (!!!) food. We had a great time chatting with Jeff about the process of turning a dump (see oldest review) in the great place he already has and is still working on! There is a great selection of board games, puzzles, books and DVDs for guests to use so you won't be bored here :)
Our power outlet didn't work at first, but when we told Jeff, he fixed it immediately for us and then came back later to check whether we were alright.

The next morning we were served with an amazing waffle breakfast and got to leave our 'review' on the wall with all the others.

This is one of the best places that I have stayed at in my life. It is a unique motel/lodge with the friendliest owners/people I have ever met. They are enthusiastic about their work, motel and life and genuinely love to make their guests feel welcome and appreciated!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powers Lake
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

You've probably never stayed at a place quite like this before. If your goal is value, proximity to sequoia Nat'l Park and friendliness then this place is a home run ( as long as you're okay with a little roughness around the edges).

Super friendly staff, free wifi, waffles/coffee in the morning, 10 mins from park entrance.

If you're looking for luxury or you're picky you probably want to keep looking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joshua012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The two of us stayed here two nights in August. This is very similar to a 17th Century stage stop where we stayed a few nights in Scotland. It is not elegant, but it is clean and welcoming. The room was spotless and had a great shower, but no a/c. Do not come expecting the Hilton, thank goodness. All the people involved seem to be ex-bikers and salt of the earth. No food in the pm, but waffles for breakfast were good, along with coffee and juice. It's really important to point out that there is a great restaurant, called Twin Valleys, eight miles from Snowline toward Fresno, then 3 miles toward Dunlap. The food here was very fresh, tasty, and well-priced. Two owners, one who scours the local countryside for fresh produce, the other being the chef. This place was a real find. Have Snowline call ahead and receive a 10% discount on meals. With lots of time hiking in Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks (very nearby), reading on the second story porch (lots of literature available), and chatting with the folks at Snowline, this was a great couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family spent the last 2 nights at Cyndi's and loved the communal feel. She and Jeff have worked hard to improve the property and have succeeded in making a cozy, eclectic bed and breakfast. The guests, who came from as far away as Munich, socialized round their fire pit until after midnight. I would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor near the back to minimize road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here one night in the middle of our camping trip to take advantage of the locale to the west entrance of Sequoia and King Canyon (off HWY 180). It was interesting coming up to the place in the middle of nowhere, but the folks were super nice, the room was CLEAN,they serve you a nice continental breakfast in the morning, and great amenities (free internet). Mention if you are military and Cyndi takes off the tax! :) I Highly recommend this spot!

Room Tip: Top floor...has a deck with chairs and a fridge and microwave to use!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitchyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I pulled in here after deciding that the places in the park weren't good value for money and the were a couple of rooms free.

It is definitely quirky although I don't think motel does it justice but neither does hotel. It has a feel of an 'out dated' English B&B to it but for all the right reasons.

There was a real mixed crowd of nationalities staying when I was there which made for a great conversation.

It isn't the near any place to eat so I was given the offer to eat there and the Chicken Alfredo was nicely home cooked and a much more sensible portion size than I'd had all trip! I think the huge wooden bar area needs a bit of development but the whole communal sitting/dining area had a very spacious feel about it, despite the crazy decor. A lovey old wood burning stove in the corner made a real treat.

Rooms were very clean and had patchwork quilts on the beds. Breakfast fine but nothing more than standard fare of waffles and cereal.

In area that seemed to be quite expensive (purely around location rather than quality it seems) this option I think is a good value find if you can be bothered to drive the 10-15min outside King Canyon Park (I paid ~$90 inc. dinner)

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoys_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlap
5.6 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
11.2 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
19.8 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
22.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Branded Calf B & B
The Branded Calf B & B
#1 of 1 in Squaw Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyndi's Snowline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

Address: 44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711
Location: United States > California > Dunlap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dunlap
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Cyndi`s Snowline Hotel Dunlap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing