We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How friendliness makes a home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunlap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cyndi's Snowline Lodge
44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711   |  
Hotel amenities
Lima, Peru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“How friendliness makes a home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I want to thank Jeff and Cindi for our great stay at the Snowline Lodge. We stumbled across it by chance on our roadtrip an got a great deal from Jeff for our stay. After setting up in a very cute and clean room, we went downstairs where we could eat our own food for dinner (never had that happen somewhere before!) and chatted with Jeff about his experiences and the development of the Snowline Lodge; very very interesting!
The common room is great. It has comfortable couches, a lot of space and plenty of books/puzzles/games to choose from if you're bored in the evening. It has a very homily feel to it!

The next morning we had an amazing (valentine's day) waffle breakfast with plenty of food, coffee and juice. After breakfast, we got a small tour of the 'work in development' areas (which you don't see if you're not shown) and got to add something to the ever expanding wall of messages.

It was an excellent stay, at the Snowline Lodge you find the perfect mix of friendliness, service and hospitality by owners and staff who genuinely love their work and guests!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The two of us stayed here two nights in August. This is very similar to a 17th Century stage stop where we stayed a few nights in Scotland. It is not elegant, but it is clean and welcoming. The room was spotless and had a great shower, but no a/c. Do not come expecting the Hilton, thank goodness. All the people involved seem to be ex-bikers and salt of the earth. No food in the pm, but waffles for breakfast were good, along with coffee and juice. It's really important to point out that there is a great restaurant, called Twin Valleys, eight miles from Snowline toward Fresno, then 3 miles toward Dunlap. The food here was very fresh, tasty, and well-priced. Two owners, one who scours the local countryside for fresh produce, the other being the chef. This place was a real find. Have Snowline call ahead and receive a 10% discount on meals. With lots of time hiking in Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks (very nearby), reading on the second story porch (lots of literature available), and chatting with the folks at Snowline, this was a great couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family spent the last 2 nights at Cyndi's and loved the communal feel. She and Jeff have worked hard to improve the property and have succeeded in making a cozy, eclectic bed and breakfast. The guests, who came from as far away as Munich, socialized round their fire pit until after midnight. I would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor near the back to minimize road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here one night in the middle of our camping trip to take advantage of the locale to the west entrance of Sequoia and King Canyon (off HWY 180). It was interesting coming up to the place in the middle of nowhere, but the folks were super nice, the room was CLEAN,they serve you a nice continental breakfast in the morning, and great amenities (free internet). Mention if you are military and Cyndi takes off the tax! :) I Highly recommend this spot!

Room Tip: Top floor...has a deck with chairs and a fridge and microwave to use!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

After getting lost after dark in King's Canyon, we were extremely tired and just needed a place to eat and sleep. We pulled into the Snowline Lodge at about 11:30 p.m. After asking about a room, we asked about suggestions on where we could find a bite to eat. Cyndi went to her kitchen (remember...it was almost midnight by this time) and cooked us up a fantastic meal. She set up a table upstairs on the balcony and served it. After waking up late the following morning and getting our suitcases in the car, Cyndi told us that there were waffles and oatmeal inside if we wanted some. It was about 11 a.m. and, where most motels or hotels would have put all their continental breakfast items away, she waited for us to get up and fed us! Although it was not the nicest place we've ever stayed, it certainly was the most friendly! The rooms were clean and had character. And, the location made for an extremely peaceful night. I compare it to staying in a sweet little cabin in the woods...in need of a few repairs. We hope that people don't go on first impressions and give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Okay, so the place is not the Hilton -- not even the Holiday Inn. But it was fun. Clean bed and bathroom, quiet, and interesting, eclectic stuff. And the best part of all is Cindi -- she clearly loves people and will do anything within her power to make you happy. Also, a great location - just a few miles outside of Kings Canyon. I say, go for it! You won't meet a nicer proprietor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed one night at Cyndi’s Snowline Lodge during June 2011 after making a reservation by phone. We were excited to find a location so close to the park, especially one week in advance. The rate was very reasonable compared to places inside the park. Upon arrival, we noticed that the outside property needed a lot of cleaning. For example, we saw old junk including rusty vehicles, campers, wheel barrows, grills, etc. The lobby and check in area on the first floor is an old bar room that smelled very musty. There was tons of old furniture from when the room still functioned as a bar such as a piano with a lady mannequin on top, old leather couches, faded artwork, dusty knick-knack’s, etc.

There are four rooms located on the second floor. We stayed in room 4, which had been remodeled. We found the room to be very clean and quaint in contrast to the rest of the property. The bathroom included a new sink, tiled shower, and toilet. There were also brand new sheets and towels. The room had a small TV and DVD player, although we did not use them. There was only one accessible electrical outlet in the room and none in the bathroom.

In summary, this place has potential, but friendly Cyndi has a lot more work ahead of her. Renting a large dumpster to clean-up the property would go a long way. Anything to improve curb appeal, such as trimming the weeds and planting flowers would also attract more customers. We saw a few cars pull in and turn right around after looking at this place. This emphasizes that first impression is everything. Unfortunately, although the hospitality and room cleanliness was superb, this is only one piece of a lodging experience. Without further renovations to this property, we would not recommend staying here at this time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cyndi's Snowline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

Also Known As:
Cyndi`s Snowline Hotel Dunlap
Cyndi`s Snowline Hotel
Address: 44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711
Location: United States > California > Dunlap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Dunlap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyndi's Snowline Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cyndi's Snowline Lodge to your Saves list