We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shades of old Stage Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunlap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cyndi's Snowline Lodge
44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Palmdale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shades of old Stage Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The two of us stayed here two nights in August. This is very similar to a 17th Century stage stop where we stayed a few nights in Scotland. It is not elegant, but it is clean and welcoming. The room was spotless and had a great shower, but no a/c. Do not come expecting the Hilton, thank goodness. All the people involved seem to be ex-bikers and salt of the earth. No food in the pm, but waffles for breakfast were good, along with coffee and juice. It's really important to point out that there is a great restaurant, called Twin Valleys, eight miles from Snowline toward Fresno, then 3 miles toward Dunlap. The food here was very fresh, tasty, and well-priced. Two owners, one who scours the local countryside for fresh produce, the other being the chef. This place was a real find. Have Snowline call ahead and receive a 10% discount on meals. With lots of time hiking in Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks (very nearby), reading on the second story porch (lots of literature available), and chatting with the folks at Snowline, this was a great couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family spent the last 2 nights at Cyndi's and loved the communal feel. She and Jeff have worked hard to improve the property and have succeeded in making a cozy, eclectic bed and breakfast. The guests, who came from as far away as Munich, socialized round their fire pit until after midnight. I would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor near the back to minimize road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here one night in the middle of our camping trip to take advantage of the locale to the west entrance of Sequoia and King Canyon (off HWY 180). It was interesting coming up to the place in the middle of nowhere, but the folks were super nice, the room was CLEAN,they serve you a nice continental breakfast in the morning, and great amenities (free internet). Mention if you are military and Cyndi takes off the tax! :) I Highly recommend this spot!

Room Tip: Top floor...has a deck with chairs and a fridge and microwave to use!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I pulled in here after deciding that the places in the park weren't good value for money and the were a couple of rooms free.

It is definitely quirky although I don't think motel does it justice but neither does hotel. It has a feel of an 'out dated' English B&B to it but for all the right reasons.

There was a real mixed crowd of nationalities staying when I was there which made for a great conversation.

It isn't the near any place to eat so I was given the offer to eat there and the Chicken Alfredo was nicely home cooked and a much more sensible portion size than I'd had all trip! I think the huge wooden bar area needs a bit of development but the whole communal sitting/dining area had a very spacious feel about it, despite the crazy decor. A lovey old wood burning stove in the corner made a real treat.

Rooms were very clean and had patchwork quilts on the beds. Breakfast fine but nothing more than standard fare of waffles and cereal.

In area that seemed to be quite expensive (purely around location rather than quality it seems) this option I think is a good value find if you can be bothered to drive the 10-15min outside King Canyon Park (I paid ~$90 inc. dinner)

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

After getting lost after dark in King's Canyon, we were extremely tired and just needed a place to eat and sleep. We pulled into the Snowline Lodge at about 11:30 p.m. After asking about a room, we asked about suggestions on where we could find a bite to eat. Cyndi went to her kitchen (remember...it was almost midnight by this time) and cooked us up a fantastic meal. She set up a table upstairs on the balcony and served it. After waking up late the following morning and getting our suitcases in the car, Cyndi told us that there were waffles and oatmeal inside if we wanted some. It was about 11 a.m. and, where most motels or hotels would have put all their continental breakfast items away, she waited for us to get up and fed us! Although it was not the nicest place we've ever stayed, it certainly was the most friendly! The rooms were clean and had character. And, the location made for an extremely peaceful night. I compare it to staying in a sweet little cabin in the woods...in need of a few repairs. We hope that people don't go on first impressions and give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Okay, so the place is not the Hilton -- not even the Holiday Inn. But it was fun. Clean bed and bathroom, quiet, and interesting, eclectic stuff. And the best part of all is Cindi -- she clearly loves people and will do anything within her power to make you happy. Also, a great location - just a few miles outside of Kings Canyon. I say, go for it! You won't meet a nicer proprietor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011 via mobile

Very friendly staff a few bugs but they are not to be found in our room. In the morning we got delicouis pancakes. At first the hotel doesnt come off as pretty and the black cat isnt a good sign but the luck is not needed becuase it is a fine establishment

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cyndi's Snowline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

Address: 44138 E Kings Canyon Road, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Dunlap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Dunlap
Also Known As:
Cyndi`s Snowline Hotel Dunlap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyndi's Snowline Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cyndi's Snowline Lodge to your Saves list