We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for Locals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Heron Restaurant & Tavern

The Blue Heron Restaurant & Tavern
Steelhead Boulevard, Duncans Mills, CA 95430
707.865.9135
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Only for Locals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Duncan's Mills has under 200 residents. Many of them on a Friday were in the bar section for drinking or eating. Three of us visitors went into the restaurant and found ourselves the only ones in it during our entire meals. Service was decent but slow, probably because we were out of sight. Wines were good choices, as they always are in the Russian River area. The Bacon and Potato Soup was very good, the Crab Cake was good and so was the Ahi Tuna with a nice sesame crust. The seafood pasta was adequate and the baby back ribs were below average with a dry coating. We don't plan to return.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covelo, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great place at one time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First 2 times we ate here was really good. Halibut was excellent. The 3rd time the restaurant part was closed and we had to eat in the bar. That part was ok, but the service was bad.When we finally got our order, chicken pot pie, It was cold. Sent it back 3 times before it was warm enough.We will not go back here again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Better than average, but not excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

You can eat outdoors or indoors. I had the halibut and my son had the salmon (each plate $20.00) served with rice and vegetable. The rice was bland and the fish portions a little small and plain. Inside there were annoying flies, as people were in and out of the doors a lot. Service was good, there was a band outside. Bar looked like a fun place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Strange.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

How can you run out of chicken if they grow it in your back yard, Petaluma area is the main chicken provider. But salmon fish and chips was good. Just OK place. Woudn't go there again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russian River area
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice bar, nice location, but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Crappy service, really crappy service - food was very average. Don't have much more to say about this restaurant, though there is a full-service bar for those of you who enjoy alcohol.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Heron Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Duncans Mills, Sonoma County
Duncans Mills, Sonoma County
 
Duncans Mills, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Blue Heron Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Heron Restaurant & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.