We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average dim sum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Koi Palace

Koi Palace
4288 Dublin Boulevard Ste 213, Dublin, CA 94568
925-833-9090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 142 Restaurants in Dublin
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Average dim sum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Koi Garden is now called Koi Palace. This was my first time at this location and it was average at best for dim sum. In the future, I'll have to try it for dinner and maybe the results will be different. As others have mentioned, be prepared for a long wait especially on the weekends. We had 7 in the party and were seated in the other dining room (you have to go back outside and make a left). We had the usual dim sum: ha gau, shui mai, lo mai gai, steamed meat balls, etc. Maybe I'm being too picky but the skin of the ha gau (and the BBQ pork, beef and shrimp churn too) shouldn't be too thick, the shui mai should be a little larger, and the steamed meat balls should have a little more flavor. I expect this type of quality at this restaurant since the Daly City location is consistently rated as one of the best Chinese restaurants in the Bay Area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    7
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Steam live black cod is excellent. First time we tried it and sure will order again. However, they said is seasonal.
Boiled live shrimps is also very tasty. Simple and fresh.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great dim sum.. a little pricey.. crowded on weekends..customer service?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I think the food here is great, its always delicious, hot and fresh.. however its kinda pricey... on the weekend, even if you go about half an hour after opening, there's already a wait! I can't really say there is much there for customer service.. its efficient but not friendly... I went this past Sunday.. asked one of the guys whizzing by for some soy sauce to go w/my chili oil.. and he looks behind the counter and says we can't have any because there are no more containers (soy sauce bottles). wha??? .. okaaaayyyy i would have been fine with soy sauce in a little bowl .. so i asked a different waiter for soy sauce and he got me some in a little dish... hmm, the first guy only came by to refill hot water in our teapot and take away empty dishes.. anyways... overlooking the service...LOL the food is good stuff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Tasty Dim Sum, Cold Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place usually has long wait in weekends due to shortage of dim sum places in the area. I have dined at this restaurant pretty often since its grand opening. It continuously offered good tasty dim sum and small plates but pricy. The hostess and managers were efficient, however they lacked of friendliness except Sam (one of the black jackets). He always has a genuine warm smile on his face which really eased the hectic long wait a bit. I gave Koi Garden an extra star just for Sam.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Good dim sum place. Not many places in the area, this this place will satisfy your craving. Usually a wait in weekends. Come early and get a number

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Koi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.