We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koi Palace

Koi Palace
4288 Dublin Boulevard Ste 213, Dublin, CA 94568
925-833-9090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 134 restaurants in Dublin
Restaurant details
San Marcos, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Steam live black cod is excellent. First time we tried it and sure will order again. However, they said is seasonal.
Boiled live shrimps is also very tasty. Simple and fresh.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

% Recommend
    6
    14
    5
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great dim sum.. a little pricey.. crowded on weekends..customer service?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I think the food here is great, its always delicious, hot and fresh.. however its kinda pricey... on the weekend, even if you go about half an hour after opening, there's already a wait! I can't really say there is much there for customer service.. its efficient but not friendly... I went this past Sunday.. asked one of the guys whizzing by for some soy sauce to go w/my chili oil.. and he looks behind the counter and says we can't have any because there are no more containers (soy sauce bottles). wha??? .. okaaaayyyy i would have been fine with soy sauce in a little bowl .. so i asked a different waiter for soy sauce and he got me some in a little dish... hmm, the first guy only came by to refill hot water in our teapot and take away empty dishes.. anyways... overlooking the service...LOL the food is good stuff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasty Dim Sum, Cold Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place usually has long wait in weekends due to shortage of dim sum places in the area. I have dined at this restaurant pretty often since its grand opening. It continuously offered good tasty dim sum and small plates but pricy. The hostess and managers were efficient, however they lacked of friendliness except Sam (one of the black jackets). He always has a genuine warm smile on his face which really eased the hectic long wait a bit. I gave Koi Garden an extra star just for Sam.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Good dim sum place. Not many places in the area, this this place will satisfy your craving. Usually a wait in weekends. Come early and get a number

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Attended a banquet in the Signature Room. Mixed drinks at the hosted bar were horrible - the "bartenders" didn't have a clue - but a minor complaint as I switched to wine & beer, and most importantly, the food was very good. The host's menu selections were all well prepared, tasty, using fresh, high quality ingredients. I especially liked the Sea Bass. Shanghai dumplings, shark fin soup, some kind of roasted chicken w/salt, Lobster, walnut prawns, fried noodles w/seafood were all terrific. The chinese brocolli was fresh but a little under seasoned. Finished with mango pudding with a slightly sweet milky sauce - interesting but probably would not order again. I would say this restaurant is on par with the sister restaurant Koi Palace in Daly City (also very good) and gets my strong recommendation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Koi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.