We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Just Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie Johnnie & Luigi

Frankie Johnnie & Luigi
11891 Dublin Blvd, Dublin, CA 94568-2834
925-828-9380
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 134 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cypress, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not Just Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Frankie, Johnnie and Luigi too, like the original in Palo Alto, is famous for pizza. However, the menu has just about every Italian dish you could think of. And the food is all good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    16
    13
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Pizza Joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Service was adequate. Pizza is generally good. We're not talking about fine dining here, but a nice neighborhood Italian restaurant with pizza as the specialty. We also had a rather bland salad, and I also had the Friday night Clam Chowder as well (that was a little salty). Nice place for family dinners, basic food. No frills.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Italian Food As Good As It Gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place is a bit off of the radar but I have known about it for years and every time that I eat here it is a great experience. Very casual with great food. Their pizza is most likely the best around for at least 20 miles. They are expensive (the pizzas) but well worth it. The staff is friendly and provides great service. I have had many items on their menu. My favorite is the OssoBucco. The pastas are great, and so our their salads and bread. This is a great place year to year and for the life of me I cannot understand the negative comments in some of the other reviews. I have never had a bad experience....Go for it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

It's been a couple of years since I was last here. I took my golf friends and they loved it. The Osso buco is amazing, the lasagne tremendous, the bread and garlic butter Devine....wonderful place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Service is still lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After 7 months, we went back to use a gift certificate. Our server was nice but she forgot to give us the famous bread appetizer. We thought they took it out but the table behind us were given some. So i guess it's selective or maybe you have to ask for it? This is my son's favorite but we told him maybe we can try other places and he agreed. A lot of people commented on the poor service, can't management do anything about it?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frankie Johnnie & Luigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie Johnnie & Luigi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.