We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dim sum in suburbia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sand Harbor

Golden Sand Harbor
7745 Amador Valley Blvd, Dublin, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 136 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
Restaurant details
Lafayette
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Dim sum in suburbia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The dim sum was just as good as the best places in Oakland and San Francisco, heavenly. Everything was fresh, plump and perfectly flavored. After living in Contra Costa for over 13 years, I am just thrilled that the kind of food I had as a child has made it's way over the Bay.

The newest trend of dim sum is not the rolling carts but you fill out a 4 color printed form, choosing the dishes you like. I never liked the rolling carts because if you had a poorly placed table, you got all the leftovers and unpopular dishes. With the check form system you get exactly what you want.

Two more plusses - a large parking lot (although it was quite full by the time I left) and the public areas of the restaurant were very clean.

Get your dim sum cravings satisfied here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    3
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Dim Sum - yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

They do have a menu of other food but we did the Dim Sum. Although there were some items we liked more than others, everything we tried was very good - we tried 8 different items. From what I could tell, it was very authentic. The person we were with thought they would bring carts around with the food on it and you could select but that wasn't the case - you just choose off a menu. What was nice is they brought one or two things to the table at a time so everything was fresh/hot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Great dim sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant twice back to back in two days but had widely different food so I have decided to rate it twice. My former review was based on an all seafood dinner. This time is about dim sum. The dim sum is excellent here. The quality is about as good as it gets. The service of the ladies pushing the carts is good. The other attendants doing tea, clearing dishes, bringing water and taking care of special order is also excellent. I saw nothing deficient on this front. I am not a local but visiting relatives that recommended this place highly. They are part of the local Chinese food congnocenti group. They know and I trust. Try it. Just plain good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Great Cantonese, Modern Touches and Attentive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This restaurant reflects the wealth and sophistication of the Chinese community in this area demanding top Chinese food with a touch of modernity and updating. The food is excellent and authentic taking clues from the trendy fashion of Hong Kong dining and transporting it to America. The seafood is top notch and super fresh. Preparing is exquisite and presentation is well above the normal Chinese places. Prices are reasonable with fresh seafood a bit higher. For dining for one, there is a combo platter with dozens of main course choices at $12.95. The service is attentive. Dessert of either red bean soup or mango pudding are included. Highly recommended as one of the best in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“New restaurant struggling with service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I'd rate this restaurant higher if they didn't have so many problems with their service. Their dim sum is better than most of the dim sum places in the area, the prices are good, and the atmosphere is pleasant. However, they need to develop better service to maintain business. One noodle dish which should have contained meat was served meatless. During the same meal, we were waiting a long time for our dishes. When we asked, they figured out that the order had never been taken to the kitchen. For dim sum they only have a few carts and the rest is brought out by servers. The servers get confused about what you have and what you still need. Fortunately, they apologize for their mistakes and give free items. Hopefully they can get their service straightened out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Sand Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Golden Sand Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sand Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.