We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - All Round, But Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amakara

Amakara
7222 Regional St, Dublin, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 135 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Danville, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good - All Round, But Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had heard - great food, rude staff, always busy, can't book, and expensive. Sounded like a good place to go.
Tried to book - no, only if you are 6 people or more. OK, what's the wait time (7:00 pm on a Wednesday night), about 45 minutes, maybe. Does maybe mean more or less. Maybe means maybe.
Rude staff; on the phone - definitely.
So turned up on a Sunday at 5:30 pm (should be quiet as everybody should be at home watching the 49er's getting beaten by the Seahawks), shown straight to a table, but by 6:00 it was heaving, and a line at the door.
Overall the food was very good, so was the service, but the cost was quite expensive, for a slightly up-market Japanese restaurant in a fairly run-down shopping precinct.
Will I go back, probably not, but there again the food was good, and maybe worth the hassle.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional Neighborhood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

One of my favorites in the Tri-Valley area for Japanese cuisine with a modern/American twist. In addition to an eclectic menu of sushi, they offer items you won't typically see like grilled edamame, ribeye steak with arugula (my favorite but my daughter says it's too smokey-grilly), shrimp ceviche, a full bar, and TV's on sports channels. It can definitely get crowded and the prices are higher than most, but it's the only restaurant of its kind within about a 10-15 miles radius

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food and expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very popular and crowded restaurant in Dublin. About a 30 minute wait to get our table. We shared a mixed sushi appetizer, then I had the Seafood Tempura. It was all very good and a fun dining experience. David, our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu, patient, and humorous with our table. Not a cheap restaurant, but you you get what you pay for. One complaint, the main course came out before the appetizer. The reason was the sushi portion of the kitchen was overwhelmed and slightly behind. That should be addressed. Otherwise a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

For starters we got grilled edamame (very good!) and grilled oysters (decent).
But then... Saba Shioyaki (grilled mackerel) was very mediocre and no presentation at all - just a pile of dry rice and a piece of fish. Dragon roll was even worse! Again - rice was dry and all together no taste. If not for edamame I would rate it 1 dot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Sashimi Salad, Hamachi Kama, Grilled Beef and Eggplant, Scallops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Amakara has always been my favorite restaurant, period, in the Bay Area since it opened. Though most people rave about the sushi, sashimi, edamame, etc., my favorite choices, in addition to the various sushi rolls, include the Sashimi Salad ( a must order every time), the Hamachi Kama, the grilled beef and eggplant (though slightly on the salty side), and any sushi that include scallops.

Over the several years, the quality has been maintained and the prices have held steadily. Prices are not high if one considers the quantity and the excellent quality.

Service is good even with the large crowds. Coming here before 6pm is a must if you do not want to wait for a table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amakara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.