We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Neighborhood Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amakara

Amakara
7222 Regional St, Dublin, CA
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 131 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pleasanton, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Neighborhood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

One of my favorites in the Tri-Valley area for Japanese cuisine with a modern/American twist. In addition to an eclectic menu of sushi, they offer items you won't typically see like grilled edamame, ribeye steak with arugula (my favorite but my daughter says it's too smokey-grilly), shrimp ceviche, a full bar, and TV's on sports channels. It can definitely get crowded and the prices are higher than most, but it's the only restaurant of its kind within about a 10-15 miles radius

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    11
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food and expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very popular and crowded restaurant in Dublin. About a 30 minute wait to get our table. We shared a mixed sushi appetizer, then I had the Seafood Tempura. It was all very good and a fun dining experience. David, our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu, patient, and humorous with our table. Not a cheap restaurant, but you you get what you pay for. One complaint, the main course came out before the appetizer. The reason was the sushi portion of the kitchen was overwhelmed and slightly behind. That should be addressed. Otherwise a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

For starters we got grilled edamame (very good!) and grilled oysters (decent).
But then... Saba Shioyaki (grilled mackerel) was very mediocre and no presentation at all - just a pile of dry rice and a piece of fish. Dragon roll was even worse! Again - rice was dry and all together no taste. If not for edamame I would rate it 1 dot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sashimi Salad, Hamachi Kama, Grilled Beef and Eggplant, Scallops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Amakara has always been my favorite restaurant, period, in the Bay Area since it opened. Though most people rave about the sushi, sashimi, edamame, etc., my favorite choices, in addition to the various sushi rolls, include the Sashimi Salad ( a must order every time), the Hamachi Kama, the grilled beef and eggplant (though slightly on the salty side), and any sushi that include scallops.

Over the several years, the quality has been maintained and the prices have held steadily. Prices are not high if one considers the quantity and the excellent quality.

Service is good even with the large crowds. Coming here before 6pm is a must if you do not want to wait for a table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is very pricey but sushi is good. Tried the spicey salmon spider roll which was good, and the Klondike roll which was ok but came out to $30. It's best to get there 5 minutes before they open since it gets very crowded. Nice decor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amakara also viewed

 

Been to Amakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amakara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.