We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just doesn't get better than this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amakara

Amakara
7222 Regional St, Dublin, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 142 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It just doesn't get better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is one of THE best Japanese restaurants around. I've eaten here twice now and consistently excellent both times. The food is top quality, fresh and has an excellent presentation. Open only for lunch and dinner so go early or you may have a wait!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a great time at Amakara in Dublin. The food is good and the service was good this time. Sometimes it is a bit uneven. The food is, however, consistently excellent. We had to wait about 45 minutes this time. Normally it is about 10-15 minutes. If you like Sushi, this is just a great place to eat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in the East Bay Area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I'm about to give away my best-kept restaurant secret, so I might as well spill all the edamame beans at once...


I live within walking distance of this place and consider myself a regular. They have the yummiest sushi anywhere, a lively atmosphere, and decent service - but when they're busy (which is all the time), you've got to play by their two rules to have the best experience possible, so I'll share those with you now:

1. Great sushi is art, and art takes time. KNOW WHAT YOU WANT TO ORDER THE FIRST TIME YOU MEET YOUR SERVER AND PLACE YOUR ENTIRE MEAL ORDER AT ONCE.

2. Are you here on a date? READ THE MENU AHEAD OF TIME AND FOLLOW RULE #1. You'll impress her/him with your efficiency. (btw, chicks can't stand indecisiveness.)


Now, let's script this, and I'll throw in my favorite items on the menu, to get you started:

Server: "Hi, my name is Luna, and I'll be your server tonight. Can I start you off with some drinks?"
You: "Hi Luna. Sure! We're actually going to place our entire order with you now, because we see you're really busy. So, we'd like to order (insert drinks of choice here), along with your grilled edamame and miso soup to start, the tuna ceviche salad next, and then your spicy crunchy rainbow roll" (plus anything else off the menu you'd like to try - you can't go wrong).
Server: "Great! That's really helpful. I'll get your order in with the kitchen right away so they can get started."

Do not show up here starving and throw a tantrum. It's happened before, and it's pathetic. This place is affordable, fabulous, spirited, and likely to be one of your Bay Area favorites, but you need to leave your entitled diner card at home and work within the framework Amakara has to offer. I promise you won't be disappointed (neither will your date).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have gone to Amakara a number of times, and took my Family while on vacation in the area. They all loved it. I especially like the Grilled Edamame and the Lime Scallops. The service is always great. For the quality the price is reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amakara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.