We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My awesome experience in this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8425 Firestone Blvd., Downey, CA 90241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Card Package
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Macon, Ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My awesome experience in this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is the most comfortable and relaxing hotel I have stayed in in quite some time now. It had ALL the luxeries and conviences that a high end hotel would have, but only at a very affordable rate. We really enjoyed the cooked-to-order breakfast every morning and the managers reception in the evening. The business room had very nice computers to use at your own pace, along with a warming inside swimming pool. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and always smiling. I will definately stay there again on my next visit to California.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    110
    65
    30
    24
See reviews for
138
46
22
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Breakfast is good, although lines could be long if you wake up late. Also, the line for the "Manager Receptions is even longer

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We were staying here to rest our head and visit the LA area for a couple of hours before our redeye flight back to the east coast.

The staff made us feel welcome from our 1st phone call contact to our exit from the property. We were greeted and welcomed into the property as if we were family. I believe Nancy was the name of the front desk staff member that had great hospitality and was an asset for us during our stay with her suggestions.

Typical of Embassy Suites hotels they had a beautiful atrium area. Agree with other reviewers this can be noisy if you have a lower level room.

We had a suite that included a living room with a pull out sofa. It had a table with a small kitchenette area that includes microwave, mini fridge, and sink. The bathroom is the smallest space in the suite, but that's fine for us. We spend more time in the bedroom & living room. We had a small balcony that looked out to adjacent building, but it was nice to open the glass door. Great cooked to order breakfast in the lobby. Includes pancakes, sausage, eggs, etc.

Additional restaurants within a short walking distance are Denny's, Mimi's Cafe, Hometown Buffet, and In 'n Out burger down the street.

This hotel was great at meeting our needs and provided a great family atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
460 helpful votes 460 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed here to visit family in the area. I stayed here for three nights with my husband, 3 year old son and 7 month old daughter. Pros: comfy business hotel, rooms are recently renovated. Great complimentary breakfast (hot and cold), complimentary business center with internet, staff is very friendly, free parking. My mother in law said the gym was nice. Lobby is lovely with the old architectural details of the building and koi pond. Rooms have microwave and small fridge (not a mini bar). there is a pull out sofa in the living room. Cons: the parking lot is a bit small, so it can sometimes be difficult to find parking, when we made the reservation we asked for a baby cot for our daughter. When we got to the room, the baby cot wasn't put together. It took a few minutes, but i had to unfold it, put the linens in it, etc. there is no bath tub, just a standing shower. Also our room was missing the toilet paper holder, but in other rooms it was there. Go figure. I think they cheaped out on their renovations, as they have very nice modern decor, but then 70's popcorn ceilings.

We didn't eat at their restaurant other than breakfast. Mimi's Cafe is in the same parking lot. Lots of shops/restaurants near by. The stonewood mall (Macy's) and i think on Lakewood is a huge shopping center with old navy, best buy,etc. Plus the oldest still running McDonalds is in Downey.

Overall, it was fine. If we were coming back to Downey, we would stay here again. The other hotels aren't as nice. We paid $119 on an advance purchase through the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

I was impressed by the staff beginning with the friendly check in personnel at the lobby counter to the free breakfast buffet manager who walked table to table asking if guests were satisfied. The rooms were recently renovated and mostly clean, however, the bathrooms are ridiculously small. Be careful not to step out of the shower and into the toilet! Overall, the room rates were a good value compared to other ES's located in better areas. There is convenient shopping across the street and several restaurants nearby within walking distance. Be cautious at night if venturing out on foot as the surrounding neighborhood is older and somewhat sketchy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I usually don't depend on user reviews especially the one allegedly saying Downey is a dangerous area? Really? If Downey is so dangerous, stay out of Los Angeles! LOL Anyways, we reserved the hotel literally at the last minute. Location is near alot of restaurants and near to a CVS and a Walgreen's. It's between I-5 and I-710 about 10 miles south of LA.

Parking was easy and plentiful. Check in was a breeze. The hotel room we received seemed like it was recently renovated. It just smelled like "new construction". The bathrooms had granite countertops. The bedroom was big and the bed was comfortable. It also had an LCD TV. The living room also had an LCD TV. The work area is big enough to lay out your laptop and your work papers. The room also had a frig, a microwave, and mini wet bar. There was also a sofa bed. The sofa bed is very uncomfortable. We received a room at the end of the hallway away from the atrium. It was very quiet.

The breakfast was very good and is complimentary with your stay. We did not stay for the evening reception, since we were tourists in the Los Angeles area that night. We booked at the last minute to attend the Michael Jackson Memorial.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I spent 2 nights at the Embassy Suites in Downey and was very pleasantly surprised. The TA reviews were mixed - these must be divided into pre-renovation and post.
The hotel is built around an atrium - a design that has plusses and minuses. The minus is mainly that sound carries throught the hotel. The plus is that a well designed atrium can be a lovely sight and lend a nice ambience to the place.
Overall pros: 1. The tropical themed atrium is very well done with fountains and ponds and some of the most mnagnificent koi I have ever seen.
2. Free workstations with printers off of the lobby.
3. A most excellent free breakfrast that includes made to order omlets, bacon, sausage , pancakes, breads, pastries, fruits, yogurt, hot and cold cereals, coffee, tea, juices and more.
4. An evening manager's reception with free made to order cocktails, wine, beer, and assorted bar snacks.
5. Everything is new in the rooms with stylish furniture and 2 large flat screen tvs.
6. Nice indoor pool

Cons: As mentioned, the atrium design can increase noise levels. However, it was not noticable in my 6th floor suite.

Downey itself is not a vacation destination - if it was not for business, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Address: 8425 Firestone Blvd., Downey, CA 90241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New living room parlor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Downey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.