We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8425 Firestone Blvd., Downey, CA 90241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Card Package
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Downey
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had a wonderful stay. Property is a little old but very well maintained. Rooms are clean and the staff is just great! We loved our stay! The next time we come to this area, we will try to get reservations at this property. The atrium area is just lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    95
    54
    27
    20
See reviews for
113
41
21
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purley, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I booked this on one of the comparison in a close battle between Mill-Biltmore. This place is great. I always rent cars so there is free parking. The staff upon entering are very friendly. The place is laid out like a hollow square with an open interior with balconies inside all round with room entrances on all 8 floors. Most are two rooms with a lot of space. Two flat screen tvs in each room with microwave, fridge, desk area, sofa (or sofa bed), and breakfast buffet is included in the price and it's great breakfast. I would stay at this place again as it's in a nice area (so it seems) just off HIGHWAY 5. It's tough to give people an exact experience of how the stay went as sometimes people don't spend a lot of time in the hotel but here goes: Stayed in Cityview room, was able to fall asleep on the queen bed with my shoes on and my partner taking them off without me noticing, upon waking up after having a great shower as it is not underpowered, I had free coffee that is getting replenished daily, with brekafast as hash browns, sausage, egg, bacon slices, waffle maker and pancakes with orange juice that is decent enough, with a decor inside that is quite elegant but not too overdone or pricey. Robert who helped us on the front desk was a great help. Thank you for everything thsi Christmas.

Room Tip: Grab a city view on the 8th floor and you have the best view. Rooms 806-811 have the best views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Arrived for a one night stay on Christmas Day, after our trip to Mexico, en route home.

As you can tell from the photos posted, the hotel looks like a palace from the outside. The inside is pretty standard Embassy Suites decor, but with a nice koi pond that enhances the ambiance.

Check-in was one of the most pleasant experiences I've had - Robert was a true professional, and clearly enjoys welcoming guests to the hotel.

The evening reception was good, with free drinks and a selection of popcorn, potato chips, pretzels, and tortilla chips served with salsa, hummus and a creamy white dip. Breakfast in the morning was complimentary with a good selection of hot and cold items.

Standard amenities in the room. We ordered room service, which arrived promptly and was delicious and good value for money. However, Internet was chargeable, unless you were a HHonors Gold or Diamond member.

Parking was free which was a plus. There is a shopping mall nearby, and a lot bog box retailers in the area including BestBuy, Ross Dress for Less, Marshalls etc. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The setting at the hotel is breathtaking. The atrium and waterfalls in the middle are above and beyond. The service is first class. Within walking distance to many amenities, food, shopping, and fun. I would definitely come and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Embassy Suites in Downey is a very very nice hotel located just outside of LA. The hotel entry is awesome and the Cocktail Reception is a nice feature. The inside pool is very nice and my kids love it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

When a hotel invites guests, they expect to be able to rest and sleep. The rock music coming from the hotel bar was loud, underscored by heavy drums and went until midnight despite calls to the front desk. Disappointed in the response.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Embassy Suites in Downey. Great staff, super clean, good breakfast, free parking, comfortable bed, in-room frig and in-room coffeemaker. The shopping center, downtown and Downey City Hall are all within short walking distances. The hotel is surrounded by national and local restaurants so there are plenty of choices when it comes to places to eat. The room was the typical Embassy Suites two room configuration with all of the amenities. We had no problems during our stay and highly recommend this hotel. When in the area, we will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: High floors for views of the surrounding area and the rear of the hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Address: 8425 Firestone Blvd., Downey, CA 90241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Downey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New living room parlor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Downey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.