We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8425 Firestone Blvd., Downey, CA 90241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Card Package
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Derby
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for six nights recently. We have two children (11 and 7) so wanted to be able to put them to bed and still watch a movie in the evening.
On the down side there are no changing rooms at the pool and so although you were asked to leave the pool towels at the pool we had to take them and damp children back to the room. The kitchenette was basic with a sink, microwave and small fridge but no cutlery or crockery (or corkscrew!) at all. The coffee machine was awful. The Saturday night that we arrived there was a function at the hotel and the sound did travel up through the atrium to our room. The other nights we could not hear any noise. We also had some nights on Hilton Honours points and had fun trying to check back in for our paid nights when the key card did not work to get back into the room to get the passport that we had already produced on original check in. This was easily sorted tho'.
On the plus side, it is very good value once you count in the managers reception (lovely staff) and complimentary breakfast - good choice and endless supply. We used room service and the restaurant and both were great. The staff were really friendly. The atrium turtles and fish had the children mesmerised. The position is good, very near to the freeway. Disney took about 25minutes but the other attractions on the north of the city took longer than the sat nav expected due to the dreadful LA traffic. So bear that in mind. There are loads of fast food places within a five minutes walk. The rooms were clean and having a balcony and being on the top floor is to be recommended. Parking is free and we never had a problem finding a space.
All in all a good family choice, I would stay here again and use other Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    109
    65
    30
    24
See reviews for
138
46
22
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a great time as always with Embassy Suites. We usually stay at the Brea location but it was sold out. Im glad it forced me to use another location and we really enjoyed the indoor pool the kids swam until 11:30pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife & I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. This might be a little older Embassy Suites, but we were very impressed with the room and the staff. A big plus is the location. Everything you want is close by at this location in Downey. We felt very safe and comfortable in our suite. I requested a upper level corner room, and that is what I received. I am a Silver Hilton Honors member and requested some extra water. Thank you Embassy Suites for a GREAT STAY. Can't beat the breakfast and reception at night. We would stay again next time.

Room Tip: choose a room on the street side if you like the extra sunshine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not only was it relatively cheap to stay there 2 nights, the property has a free breakfast and free happy hour! How do you beat that, oh ya you are in a suite! Couch, 2 tvs, sliding door to the balcony, large space, and small kitchen area.

Great service, nice people.

Room Tip: ask for the highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A recent one night stay at the Downey Embassy Suites was as expected. Booking a hotel that you know what you are going to get is comforting. The hotel met our expectations. We didn't have time to access any of the amenities but saw several families enjoying the pool and breakfast areas. Parking was easy. The room was clean, etc. Unfortunately, the rooms at the front, along Firestone Blvd, are not protected from the traffic noise - I wonder if updated windows would help.
It appeared that most guests were families and it was expectedly noisy in the common areas because of this.

Room Tip: Only have stayed one night in the front along Firestone Blvd - can hear the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent two days in Downey on a business-related trip although we brought the family and found this hotel to have the best online ratings. We were please with our choice. The front desk was attentive, the room was clean, the pool and area were well kept. The only negative is that this hotel probably has the slowest elevators on earth. You cannot be in a hurry when needing to go up or down as you can be waiting a full 5 mins. All rooms open up to the center of the hotel and atrium -which I was worried could be noisy is populate but we didn't have any issues. And for those for are fans of the bakery/cafe Portos, it is walking distance from this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was comfortable, quiet, and very clean. I slept just as well in the hotel bed as I do at home! The made-to-order breakfast was amazing, as was the evening cocktail hour! Our first night there was Earth Day, and the hotel celebrated by cutting some lights. Each guest was given a glow stick for the experience, and encouraged to turn out some lights, as well. Drinks and hors d'oeuvres were served during the hour, as well, and were very nice! We spent every night there in the pool, which was open late, unlike many hotels that close their pool so early, you don't get a chance to swim after your day's activities! We had a very relaxing time!

Room Tip: We had a King suite with separate living area. Very nice! Would definitely recommend it to anyone!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Address: 8425 Firestone Blvd., Downey, CA 90241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New living room parlor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Downey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.