We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rose Bowl Headquarters.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8425 Firestone Blvd., Downey, CA 90241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Card Package
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Rose Bowl Headquarters.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights for our visit to attend the Rose Bowl game and do some other activities. This hotel was centrally located relative to the locations we needed to travel to across the Los Angeles area. The room was rather large, with a separate bedroom and living room areas. The furniture and carpet was rather old, but everything was clean and the room was generally comfortable for the two of this.

The breakfast was great. Made to order omelets, sausages, pancakes, waffles, fruit, yogurt, a good selection of drinks, and more. Breakfast is served in the very nice indoor courtyard. The courtyard has coy ponds and some turtles with nice stone work and plants. It was nice to have a large open area to eat breakfast rather than a cramped room like many hotels have.

Every day in the early evening the hotel serves free drinks to guests in the courtyard. We sat down for a few beers and rum & cokes when we could make the time. The bartender is a little bit slow but we had our fill of drinks on the house. We also spent some time in the hotel bar on New Year's Eve. It's a convenient place to have some drinks later in the night without leaving the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    140
    75
    37
    31
See reviews for
172
50
24
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a good embassy suites hotel. The lobby is a fun, authentic feeling mission style with murals inside the arches, sitting areas, fountains and pools with koi and turtles. The rooms were standard with two double beds and the sofa bed, two TVs, nicely appointed bathroom with granite counters. Plenty of room for the five of us. The balcony offered a nice view of downtown LA in the distance. Breakfast was great, and the mangers reception had plentiful sacks and drinks. The area felt quite safe, a Mimi's cafe in the parking lot, other restaurants nearby, and a complete mall a few blocks away. There's a classic Bob's Big Boy and an early original McDonalds on Firestone. We stayed here to go to the Rose Parade and Rose Bowl game. It took about 20-25 minutes taking the 605, which was about a mile away on Firestone. (Hotels closer to Pasadena were booked or too expensive.) This hotel is equidistant to 5, 710, and 605, so it is pretty easy to get to and is easy to get back to a highway. The city of Downey is pretty basic, middle classish with moderate homes, standard banks, stores, churches, schools. All seemed graffiti free and there were no bars on the windows, so the feeling was pretty good. It is not a super cute walking district, more business as usual, although some new restaurants looked like they were opening soon. So overall it's a good family friendly central location in greater Los Angeles. It is not near anything, but it's not that far from everything. The Downey Music Center was adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have a view of downtown, East of the San Gabriel mountains. Up high is better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The older Embassy suites hotels can look very faded even if cared for well. This hotel was not cared for well. Strange furniture, grimy dirt-colored carpets, a shower that hadn't been scoured in years, hvac that turns off entirely if (in the hotel's view) the outside temp is between 55 and 70degF.: just a few of the problems. And that cooked breakfast? Only if you don't value your time, the line was never shorter than 15 people every time I checked. Even profit center items, such as vending machines, were out of order.

The only plus was front desk staff, which seemed to care when I had a request. But they didn't care to ask why I checked out after one night and moved somewhere else due to the accumulated grime throughout the room and the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you Dick R for your recent review. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize that the hotel was not as clean as our standards demand.

A clean room that has been prepared for our guests is basic for a good stay. I am sorry if this was not your experience. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest and I want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! I truly hope these events will not deter you from choosing our location for future travels, as I hope for your reconsideration.

Warmest Regards,

Michelle Escobedo
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Business trip...9 people from different parts of US and Canada. Hotel was very accommodating! Breakfast in the Courtyard was amazing, so well organized! Rooms were very clean, only complaint was my room was missed once. The shuttle service they supposedly provide let us down every day and we had to scramble to arrange alternative transportation to our training facility so I would suggest outsourcing transport. That was the only major let down. Great ambience, friendly staff! Food in the restaurant was delicious! They have a happy hour but we never made it back in time... Definitely a nice hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MusicTraveler2
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A pretty good location for Downey, and the rooms are fine. Restaurant, bar and manager reception area all could use upgrading. Better food, drinks, and atmosphere would all be welcome. The manager reception serves really cheap swill for drinks, though the bar is OK. Food was acceptable, but very limited, and quite honestly not that appealing in general. There are a couple of restaurants in walking distance, but nothing to recommend highly.

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I spent one night in this hotel. I really don't like this open concept courtyard in the middle of the hotel becuse you can hear when somebody drops a fork five stories below.
But the most unusual thing was an HVAC; it turns ON automatically if the outside (not inside) temperature is above a certain value, and turns heating ON when the outside temperature is below a certain treshold. In between those values two extreme temperatures, nothing. They just don't trust guests to operate the AC.
If you are cold, they bring you a small electric heater. Very strange.

Room Tip: May I suggest another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our party of 7, including children and grandchildren, were treated like family. The staff was warm, friendly, and courteous. The rooms were spotless, and the breakfast and evening reception tasty and plentiful. The indoor pool was a plus for the kids and the gym had the latest equipment. Wherever we turned, we were greeted with a smile, the front desk even checked us in for our return flight and printed our boarding passes. Without question we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Address: 8425 Firestone Blvd., Downey, CA 90241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi Million Dollar renovation completed in May 2015. New Lobby. New Atrium. New Restaurant. New Lounge. New Fitness & Business Center. A Brand New Embassy Suites in Downey! All-suite, full service Hotel, located in the heart of Los Angeles! With 4 freeways located within 2 miles of the Hotel, it's easy to get around town. We are only 14 miles from Anaheim, 14 miles from Downtown Los Angeles and 14 miles from Long Beach. Parking is complimentary. Your stay includes a full breakfast and nightly reception from 5:30-7:30pm daily All of our sleeping rooms consist of 2 room suites with your choice of one king or 2 queen beds. The parlor features a double size sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Downey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.