We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation badly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8425 Firestone Blvd., Downey, CA 90241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Card Package
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Downey
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs renovation badly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The older Embassy suites hotels can look very faded even if cared for well. This hotel was not cared for well. Strange furniture, grimy dirt-colored carpets, a shower that hadn't been scoured in years, hvac that turns off entirely if (in the hotel's view) the outside temp is between 55 and 70degF.: just a few of the problems. And that cooked breakfast? Only if you don't value your time, the line was never shorter than 15 people every time I checked. Even profit center items, such as vending machines, were out of order.

The only plus was front desk staff, which seemed to care when I had a request. But they didn't care to ask why I checked out after one night and moved somewhere else due to the accumulated grime throughout the room and the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you Dick R for your recent review. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize that the hotel was not as clean as our standards demand.

A clean room that has been prepared for our guests is basic for a good stay. I am sorry if this was not your experience. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest and I want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! I truly hope these events will not deter you from choosing our location for future travels, as I hope for your reconsideration.

Warmest Regards,

Michelle Escobedo
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    132
    73
    37
    31
See reviews for
164
50
24
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Business trip...9 people from different parts of US and Canada. Hotel was very accommodating! Breakfast in the Courtyard was amazing, so well organized! Rooms were very clean, only complaint was my room was missed once. The shuttle service they supposedly provide let us down every day and we had to scramble to arrange alternative transportation to our training facility so I would suggest outsourcing transport. That was the only major let down. Great ambience, friendly staff! Food in the restaurant was delicious! They have a happy hour but we never made it back in time... Definitely a nice hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MusicTraveler2
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A pretty good location for Downey, and the rooms are fine. Restaurant, bar and manager reception area all could use upgrading. Better food, drinks, and atmosphere would all be welcome. The manager reception serves really cheap swill for drinks, though the bar is OK. Food was acceptable, but very limited, and quite honestly not that appealing in general. There are a couple of restaurants in walking distance, but nothing to recommend highly.

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I spent one night in this hotel. I really don't like this open concept courtyard in the middle of the hotel becuse you can hear when somebody drops a fork five stories below.
But the most unusual thing was an HVAC; it turns ON automatically if the outside (not inside) temperature is above a certain value, and turns heating ON when the outside temperature is below a certain treshold. In between those values two extreme temperatures, nothing. They just don't trust guests to operate the AC.
If you are cold, they bring you a small electric heater. Very strange.

Room Tip: May I suggest another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our party of 7, including children and grandchildren, were treated like family. The staff was warm, friendly, and courteous. The rooms were spotless, and the breakfast and evening reception tasty and plentiful. The indoor pool was a plus for the kids and the gym had the latest equipment. Wherever we turned, we were greeted with a smile, the front desk even checked us in for our return flight and printed our boarding passes. Without question we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Standard hotel. The lobby entrance common areas are a bit dated and over decorated. First 4 nights I was in a room on the 6th floor that smelled musty and I could hear the trains around midnight and early morning. My last night I was in a corner room that was smaller but felt cleaner and like there was more circulating air. Had all 5 nights been in this room I would have left with an overall better impression.

The included breakfast is full of options - yogurt/fruit, oatmeal, cereal and egg/cooked breakfast bar, make your own waffles. So lots of options though not entirely healthy -- eggs fried in some kind of spray...

The gym has 2 treadmills and one bicycle with a separate weights area. Was nearly empty when I went. Bummer it is on a smoking floor. First time I went I had to wade through smoke to get to the gym. Another time I went the smoke was less prominent.

It's a fine standard option if you find yourself in Downey.

Room Tip: 8th floor room in the back was better than 6th floor room at front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was new to Embassy Suites. A business associate chose the hotel and I went along. The interior of the hotel was quite large, open, and nice. There were waterfall and a large koi pond. There was also a delightful restaurant that we had dinner in, and breakfast was made to order.

However, I wasn't quite as impressed with the room itself. It wasn't bad by any means. It was adequate. The room was indeed a suite with a separate living room and a private bedroom. It just didn't have an overall comfortable feel to me. It felt very sterile. I would stay here again if asked to, but I wouldn't go out of my way to here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Address: 8425 Firestone Blvd., Downey, CA 90241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi Million Dollar renovation completed in May 2015. New Lobby. New Atrium. New Restaurant. New Lounge. New Fitness & Business Center. A Brand New Embassy Suites in Downey! All-suite, full service Hotel, located in the heart of Los Angeles! With 4 freeways located within 2 miles of the Hotel, it's easy to get around town. We are only 14 miles from Anaheim, 14 miles from Downtown Los Angeles and 14 miles from Long Beach. Parking is complimentary. Your stay includes a full breakfast and nightly reception from 5:30-7:30pm daily All of our sleeping rooms consist of 2 room suites with your choice of one king or 2 queen beds. The parlor features a double size sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Downey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.