We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and nice rooms friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studio Inn And Suites

Save Saved
You added Studio Inn And Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Studio Inn And Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12340 Lakewood Blvd, Downey, CA 90242   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Downey
Downey, California
1 review
“clean and nice rooms friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

the rooms were nice and clean the service was very good nice and polite staff.
a good place for relaxation and comfort.
the pool and patio area is very nice to swim and have a fun time. i especially like the king bed suites they are very big and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Studio Inn And Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are glad to hear of how great you enjoyed staying at Studio Inn and Suites. As you might already know, at Studio Inn and Suites, we always strive to have our rooms as immaculate as possible. And thanks to your comment, we know that our team members are doing a great job in that aspect. Yes, our Suites, are really spacious and all of our rooms do come with a brand new bedding package, flat screen television, microwave, fridge and we also offer free parking, Wi-Fi and continental breakfast. Our pool also offers a great place for relaxation and enjoyment. Thank again for providing us and future guest with you feedback on Studio Inn and Suites.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    66
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
64
57
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a cheap, mediocre motel. Nothing more, nothing less. Due to the astonishing reviews(#1 in Downey), we(a family of 5) chose to stay in this place instead of other good hotels. We were strongly disappointed. "The breakfast buffet" is the poorest ever: A barrel of juice, a coffee brewer and some cheap muffins, for take away only. The pool is extremely small, situated at the parking lot. The parking lot has many old, crashed and dirty cars, which probably gives a good impression of the average guest/tenant at this establishment. This is definately not a place for holiday or business accomodation. The only businessmen here will be the ones fooled by the extremely good reviews, which content has nothing to do with real life at the Studio Inn and Suites in Downey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Studio Inn And Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guest to read. As you might have noticed when you checked in, all of our rooms have been recently remodeled from top to bottom. We have a new bedding package and all our rooms do have a flat screen television( HD channels included!), microwave, fridge and free and fast Wi-Fi. We also have a twenty-four hour front desk at your service shall you need anything brought to your room. Our continental breakfast is composed of bagels, toast, jelly, fruits (apples and oranges), freshly brewed coffee, and different variety of muffins. Also, as you were able to see, we do monitor the parking lot every hour and cater to tourists from all around the world. Thank you once more for your feedback, as this feedback will help us to continue on improving the areas were improvement is needed.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The room was nice. Management was very eager to please, and brought us an extra blanket when we requested. There was a small problem with the shower head at first, but we let the manager know.
Suggestions: have extra blankets in the room already. Add cereal options to the breakfast.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Studio Inn And Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Studio Inn and Suites. As you may have already found out, our entire rooms have been recently remodeled, which include a brand new bedding package, as well as flat screen HD television and programming. We offer free complimentary continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking. Our continental breakfast include freshly brewed coffee, muffins, toast, jelly, orange juice and fresh fruits. We hope you will be able to stay with us next time you are in the Los Angeles area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I love Studio Inn & Suites! I have been coming here for about 2 years now whenever I come out to Downey, I call to book my room and Luis always remembers me and the room I like the best before I even have to say anything! It is always such a great feeling when he remembers me and even which room i like to have! They are so personable,and have the BEST Customer Service ever. They have upgraded their rooms and the TV's and cable service. It is only a couple of blocks from MANY Restaurants, including fast food or a sit down dinner! There is also shopping center in the same area with the restaurants! They also have breakfast every morning! The rooms are very nice! The last time I stayed (just 2 weeks ago) I forgot to bring some utensils with me and they gave me some and asked if I needed anything else! They patrol the parking lot at night and I have never had a problem with my vehicle or unruly hotel guests! They run a warm, friendly place and you will want to go back again and again! Thank you to all who work there and the housekeepers are excellent!

Room Tip: I always love the room above the pool, but everyone has what they like best! All of the rooms are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Studio Inn And Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so very much for the great review you have on our Downey property. We are extremely happy to read that you are a returning guest and that our front desk always remembers you and always is able to provide you with the room you like the most. You have nicely stated that all our rooms have been recently remodeled ,and now all rooms have HD programming, as well as free On Demand options. As you know, we try to keep a serene and peaceful place so that all of our guest can have a restful night so that they may start their day full of energy. We have a twenty-four hour front desk that is always at your service. Once again, we are glad you are a continuing guest and that everything inside the room is to your liking. Hope to hear from you soon!!!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Recommend - Excellent Stay 13th – 19th June

My Partner researched this accommodation before booking and we were not disappointed. We traveled from the UK and arrived late afternoon. We were greeted by a welcoming staff member, who ran through everything we needed to know for our stay and directed to our room. (We had hired a car and there are ample parking spaces.)

Our room was quite spacious for the two of us, a very large bed, bathroom with over bath shower and toilet, which I may add were absolutely spotless. (Numerous clean good quality towels), in the main part of the room there is a sink and the surround is quite large and on this is a coffee maker for your use. Air conditioning works well. Also in the room there are adequate storage cupboards for your clothes etc, large flat screen TV and a large fridge for your use. There is also a small dining room table with chairs. We popped up to the local supermarket and stocked up on some items. There is a small pool, with some sun loungers, which is also clean and spotless.

This accommodation is close to all the shops restaurants and junction to highways etc.

The room was cleaned daily and towels replenished.

We had a complimentary breakfast which you can collect from the main office lobby. It may not be vast – but we found it satisfactory for us, bread, toaster, jams, cakes,milk, coffee, and tea. Which we took back to our room.

We noticed business people use this accommodation to stay along with holiday makers.

About just over a 5 min walk up the road, there are a number of shops and restaurants, a short drive away is a supermarket with pharmacy and again further down that road there are many more restaurants – theatre, etc

The staff are friendly and welcoming; we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a base to use to travel around this part of LA.

We traveled to Santa Monica, San Diego, Sea World, Malibu, Six flags, Queen Mary at Long Beach, Hollywood walk of Fame, Chinese theatre. We also booked to see The Los Angeles Angels and New York Yankees baseball game, which we thoroughly enjoyed – sitting with local supporters, who were really friendly and explained the rules etc.

We stayed here for nearly a week and then packed and traveled onto Las Vegas. The only downside – LA traffic – can be extremely busy.

Room Tip: Higher floor maybe, it is on a busy road, but we didn't here any traffic at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Studio Inn And Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
WOW!!! is the first word that comes to mind when reading the wonderfully detailed review you have on our Downey property. We are extremely jubilant to read how great your stay was and that you found every single thing in the room to your liking. Yes, all of our rooms are nonsmoking and the one you booked comes with a spacious king size bed, microwave, flat screen television and fridge. We also offer free complimentary continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. Our team members always strive to keep the rooms as immaculate as possible, and we replenish clean towels on a daily basis. Studio Inn and Suites in centrally located to many nearby attractions, which means, we are only half an hour away from places such as Knott's Berry Farm. Disneyland and Universal Studios Hollywood. Thank you once again for the magnificent feedback you have on our property, and we hope you will be able to stay with us next time you come visit beautiful Southern California.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

From time to time i need to stay in a hotel when visiting my family in Downey. I have chosen to officially stay at Studio Inn because everything about this hotel is Excellent. The rooms aren't extremely big but they are not little either. They are just the perfect size. I love the tvs and the cable options because you can watch on demand (absolutely love this feature). The hotel is very clean and there's always plenty of parking. The housekeeping staff is also very great. If you need a place to stay in the Downey area i recommend the Studio Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Studio Inn And Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review you have on Studio Inn and Suites. We are happy to hear that you have selected us as your place of stay when visiting family members in Downey. Thank you for the detailed feedback about our rooms and about the free On-Demand feature we have on every single room. The free feature is great because as you were able to see, all of our rooms have a flat screen television that come equipped with HD channels-with a vast variety of programs to chose from. Also, we always try to maintain a clean property and we are happy to know our team members are doing their part to keep the property clean. Thank you once again for the wonderful and detailed review about Studio Inn and Suites.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here while my home was being fumigated. I found the hotel very clean and comfortable. Everyone connected with the hotel was extremely pleasant and most helpful. The rooms have clearly been updated recently, and were quite nice. Having multiple eating places just a short walk down the street is very nice and convenient. Lots of choices, and happily a Starbucks! I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing or wanting to stay in the area. I know I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Studio Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for the wonderful feedback you have provided for future travelers to read. And thank for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us with this review on our Downey property. We are delighted to hear that you selected us as your place of stay while your house was been fumigated. As you were able to see, all of our rooms have been recently remodeled and now come with a flat screen television (HD channels included!) , microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, Iron and Iron board. We also have a twenty-four hour front desk at your service and also offer free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi, and parking. Thank you again for your time and wonderful review.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Studio Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Inn And Suites

Address: 12340 Lakewood Blvd, Downey, CA 90242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Downey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Studio Inn And Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Studio Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Inn And Hotel Downey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio Inn And Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.