We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to come home to!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douglas City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Creek Lodge
59741 Highway 299 W, Douglas City, CA   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to come home to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

“We stayed a couple days in the 2 bedroom suite with kitchenette.
Very roomy suite, nice clean kitchenette and bathroom.
It is was really great to come back from a busy day of fishing and site-seeing to such a comfortable home.
The back porch overlooking the Trinity River right at the Indian Creek was so relaxing.
In the evening it was a great place to enjoy the sunset and barbeque up some dinner.
Also in the nearby town of Lewiston there is a nice small winery...a must-visit! http://www.onemaplewinery.com/

For great night life and dinner...Weaverville has a very welcoming bar/restaurant called the La Grange Cafe”

Stayed May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
14
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McKinleyville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

The new owners of this place were the friendliest people I have ever met in a hotel or motel. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable in our stay and were very helpful in giving us information on the local area. The room was small but that is all we needed. And was very reasonably priced. I want to go back in the summer time when the fish are running and take advantage of their river access

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

I just spent two nights at Indian Creek Lodge, and they were wonderful. The place is run by longtime locals, a married couple, who know the area like the back of their hands. They were very friendly and want to make your stay in the area a great experience.
The lodge sits right where Indian Creek rushes down into the Trinity, which flows right behind the lodge.
The room was spotless, including the bathroom, and all the furnishings were things that i would pick out for my own home.
The sheets, pillows and comforter did not feel like motel linens...I felt like i was in my mom's guest room. The nights were chilly, and the bedding was so cozy.
The lighting was warm and homey.....the bedside lamps were perfect for reading, not glarey and harsh as in some motels.
I didn't watch TV, but there's an unobtrusive flat-screen TV, and the microwave and refrigerator are hidden in a wooden chest of drawers, so they're out of sight.
I"m a notoriously bad motel sleeper, but i slept like a log both nights. It was quiet, and if i opened the small window in the bathroom i could hear the frogs peeping in the Trinity River out back.
The area is gorgeous. In early May, the Trinity Alps still had quite a bit of snow, making them look even bigger and more dramatic. Just down the road to the east is Whiskeytown Lake, which is huge and beautiful. I didn't have a chance to do any hiking, but i know there are trails very close by. And Weaverville, just about 5-10 minutes up the road, is a funky, charming town. It's got a lot of history, but it's also where nice folks actually live.
I am definitely going back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I Travel half the year chasing Anadromous fish, And I stay at lots of lodges, motels etc. But for Me, there is only one home away from home, And The Indian Creek Lodge is it. Clean, Quite, great staff and right on the Trinity River. Only a few hours from Reno, And Your at a Jewel of a River and a Jewel of a Lodge. William Robinson,( Fly Fishing Fool) Reno Nevada

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

My husband and I first met in 2004. Our first trip together before we were married was to the coast, Crescent City, and along the way, as I had grown up in Northern
california since I was ten (don't tell anyone), I had always passed by the Indian Creek Lodge and wanted to stay there and see what it was like. Well I mentioned to my husband to be at that time and he said then we will. So not too long after we made reservations for a room with a kitchenette and stayed for a few days more than we had planned because we liked it so much!!! I cannot express the degree of hospitality and kindness that we were extended during our stay and have since been back sveral times to enjoy more of it. It has been a while since we have been back due to not having the time but I keep wanting to and hopefully soon. Kind of a nastalgic thing. If you do decide to stay there I know your experience will be as nice as ours was. Enjoy! Wendy Pizzi

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

Fronting the Trinity River, we could walk out back and fish on the banks of the Trinity River for Steelhead and trout!
This used to be Bing Crosby's lodge when he'd go fishing in this area.

Access to the historic town of Weaverville, gold panning, hiking, searching for bears.

Seemed to be hunting season too because a couple of guests caught a couple of bucks.

The rooms are clean and neat as the owners have redone them.
This is a great place for a wedding as they have a huge lawn, kitchen facilities and everything one would need for a fine party of any kind!

  • Liked — The old "summer lodge" feel, and the intimate feel of the property
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Indian Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Creek Lodge

Address: 59741 Highway 299 W, Douglas City, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Douglas City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Douglas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Indian Creek Lodge to your Saves list